Reading the Sunday Paper… or Sunday Blogs

I know I don’t post on Sundays, but I want to share some info and a little link love.

Info: I worked hard on the house yesterday, and I made it to the lake for the afternoon.  A Paulaner Hefe came along with me.  That, in my opinion, is the epitome of wheat beer.  It is still brewed to the Reinheitsgebot, the German purity laws of 1516, and it’s good!  (Kev hates it, but no one asked him.)

paulaner

Today I woke up not wanting to work out at all.  I haven’t wanted to skip a run that badly in a loooong time.  After laying in bed, wasting time, procrastinating, and trying to get some sort of motivation, I finally got up.  I got up and put on my running gear.  I ran.  It was horrible.  It was a very difficult run, even though I didn’t go far.  At mile 2, I got a cramp and needed to walk a little.  In the end, I finished exactly 3 miles in 25:35, including that walk time.  I guess that isn’t so bad after all!  As one of my favorite workout mantras goes: You never regret a workout.  Too true.  I rewarded myself with a smoothie in a bowl.  It has raspberries, spinach, banana, skim milk, and all-natural, vanilla, soy protein.  Yum!

smoothie

 

Link Love: Here are a few posts and articles that have made me smile lately.  I hope you enjoy!

Corey at Learning Patience posted a great-looking recipe for cinnamon lentil soup.  I can’t wait to try it!  Martha Stewart recommends freezing wine you don’t finish for cooking purposes, and I have some in my freezer right now.  Yes, I’m sorry to break the news – there’s no excuse to finish the bottle every time.

Travel & Leisure posted a link to the best beer cities.  I figured Nashville and Charleston would be lower, but I also thought Boston and Chicago would be higher.  I totally see how they chose the Portlands.

charleston

Charleston 2010 - No Beer Here!

I really enjoyed Tina’s post at Faith, Fitness, and Fun about the annoying comments people make.  What are comments you hate?  I don’t particularly like it when people make comments about how I must enjoy working out.  Let’s get this straight.  Working out is no picnic for me.  I like the feeling I get afterwards, but I would much rather sleep in during the week or watch tv at night.  It’s called dedication – not joy.

I also really enjoyed Brittany’s post about extreme couponing.  I’m glad someone agrees with me.  Great – you got an amazing deal on junk food.  Good for you.  Too bad you had to buy 10 boxes.  Don’t get me wrong. I love a good deal, and I cut coupons.  But even I have my limits.  My mema had a great point: if you weren’t going to buy it when it wasn’t on sale, it’s not a deal to buy it when it is.

Lastly, enjoy this pic from Beer Runner, originally from the London Daily Telegraph

Best Beer Runner Photo Ever

I hope you enjoyed the link love.  More importantly, I hope you enjoy the rest of your weekend!

19 Responses to “Reading the Sunday Paper… or Sunday Blogs”

  1. Hahah oh my gosh that last picture is amazing!

    Hope you’re enjoying your weekend!! 🙂

  2. I am SOOO with you on the extreme couponing thing! The show came out and all of a sudden everyone thinks they are an extreme couponer. I don’t ever see things like fruit, milk, eggs, vegetables, etc. in their carts. It’s all processed junk and what the heck are you ever going to to do with 50 bottle of mustard!? It drives me crazy!!!

  3. That’s a great photo! Enjoy your Sunday!

  4. enjoy your Sunday! That last picture is great, makes me want a beer at 10:30am!

  5. Awe – thanks girlie! 🙂 Seriously that soup is so good! Enjoy the rest of your Sunday!! It’s raining here in Tobago….but we’ve been having a blast anyways!!! xoxox

  6. Wow -you must really LOVE running to finish three miles so quickly. 😉 Spending the day on the lake would be so fabulous right now. I just need a boat – and a lake – and I would be all set. 🙂

  7. I know what you mean about those xtreme couponers!!! They are so annoying…sure you can get a ton of free food but none of it is even worth it! Its all processed junk food, pop, and crap!

  8. You sure did still pull out a speedy run!!! Great job scoring such a good run. You must LOVE running all the time. 😉 😉 😉 hehehehehe

    Thanks for the love!

  9. That beer runner photo is awesome!

  10. Quick time! Way to go!…. That beer runner photo is a winner!

  11. I feel the same way about Extreme Couponing! I was actually going to write about it, but I can’t wait to check out this post. Love the beer pic!

    Hope you had a nice weekend. 🙂

  12. I love when you talk yourself out of not working out and then feel good for doing it! Good work 🙂

  13. Yay, I’m excited to check out these links! 🙂

  14. Ah lake/boating time is always nice. I hate it when I have runs like that. Sometimes you just need to listen to yourself and take the day off. And I’m with you on the loving to workout thing. I mean, mostly I enjoy it. But man do I have those days when I really would rather be at the dentist!

  15. i love that picture. i want to be that girl.

  16. So true that you’ll never regret a workout! It’s definitely all about dedication sometimes! 🙂

    And I totally agree with you on the extreme couponing – your mema definitely made a great point!

  17. Whaddup chica!

    So, I know you’re a big fan of Paulaner and all, however for a truly amazing hefe, find yourself a bottle of Weihenstephaner Hefeweissbier …. rated #1 according to BeerAdvocate.com and #4 on Ratebeer.com.

    I wonder what the criteria was for T&L’s best beer city list …. Savannah and Providence (1 and 3 breweries respectively) rank higher than Chicago (18 breweries), Minneapolis/St. Paul (17 breweries) and San Diego (19 breweries)???? The breweries in these three city produce some of the nations best … so I’m clueless .. any thoughts?

    Brandon

    • I haven’t tried that one. Paulaner isn’t actually my fav (thought it is pretty close), but it’s just what I view as the role model of hefes.

      No thoughts on the cities list. I think it’s totally subjective. Portland, ME doesn’t have many breweries, but it’s a good beer-drinking town – judging by the bars and the vibe. I’m not so sure about Charleston though – I see more cocktails there than anything. I give up trying to figure that one out!

Trackbacks

Leave a comment