A Spin-Off Kind of Saturday

I wanted to attend spin class today.  I never get to spin anymore, and that makes me sad.  I was a weekly spinner at my old gym for 3 reasons:

  1. They had a Friday class that started super early. I pre-burned my beers.
  2. The instructor totally kicked my butt.  I walked out of that class with jello legs and wet clothes every time.
  3. The instructor also refrained from “jumps.”  I can stay up a while for climbs and some intervals, but my knees don’t like jumps one bit.

I quit going because no classes at my current gym meet my schedule.  The one today starts at 9:15 a.m.  There are a few reasons I probably won’t spin this morning.  I prefer to get a better head start on the day, and Kevin and I have a lot to do.  We are doing a few renovations to our guest bathroom, and we want to finish everything this weekend while still allowing a little time for some boating.

Also, I wanted cereal this morning.  I ate cereal.  I ate 2 to 3 servings of cereal.  I’m also drinking coffee.  Class starts in an hour.  I think this is a recipe for disaster.

I’ll get around to spin… one day…

I’d like to fill you in on my Friday, and I have just the pictures to do it!

I went to the gym, and I had a great workout.  After lifting (big sets yesterday of about 12-15 reps), I used the art trainer for 25 minutes.  At the 5-, 10-, and 15-minute marks I dropped to the floor to do 10 pushups.  I know that doesn’t sound like much, but pushups get my heart rate up; they’re like sprints for my arms.  Also, since it was chest/back day, this machine and my additional pushups really helped burn out the muscles.

muscle

I don't always look like a ragamuffin at the gym, just most of the time.

I did not leave the gym in curlers.  I did, however, leave in running shoes.  I brought other shoes, but I walk three blocks to work, plus lots of stairs.

gym

Sorry Steve Madden - Mizuno Running Shoes Look Waaaay Cooler

I tried my overnight oats in a jar when I got to work.  I should have had something with more protein.  Actually, I should have had something else period.  These were edible, but I’m not a fan.  Oats should be hot… or in muffins, or granola, or meatloaf, or smoothies… Okay, oats can be in a lot of things, but cold milk in a jar is not one of those things.

oiaj

Mush... cold mush to be exact

Later, Kevin and I spent some time at Lowe’s.  I get serious A.D.D. in home improvement stores.   We  were going to have champagne once we finished working on the house, buttttt Kev wanted to open it early.  Needless to say, I did not object.

champage

Champagne + Paint Fumes = Friday Night Dance Party at the House

For dinner, I made pasta with meat sauce, and it was sooooooo delicious!  I love that simple meal!  I added extra oregano, garlic, onion, and tomato, but it is still pretty darn basic.  I also have to recommend Organic Whole Wheat Penne with Milled Flax by Hodgson Mill.  It’s my all-time favorite and can be purchased in bulk at Amazon.

oh so yum

Oh So Simple But Oh So Yum

Okay, now it’s time to finish my coffee and get back to work!

11 Responses to “A Spin-Off Kind of Saturday”

  1. I started my Morning off very similarly! I’m sitting down drinking coffee now, and I’m not sure how productive anything else will be this morning. That’s what Saturdays are for!:)

  2. Oooo good idea to get off the cardio machine and do push-ups!

  3. Haha every time I eat my oats my boyfriend calls it my “gruel” or my “slop” – it may look like that but it tastes AMAZING!

  4. Pushups really get my heart racing too, and I’m the same way with overnight oats… definitely not a big fan. I’ve never tried the whole oats in a jar thing because it just seems like too much work to dig them out – I prefer mine easily accessible via bowls 😀

  5. My husband hates oiaj too. He thinks they are repulsive actually so I understand how people don’t like them. I’m still a fan but I have to be in the mood. I just did the “special workout” for nrolfw last night which makes you do 1 set of every exercise but as many reps as you possibly can. When I got to the pushups my heart rate was soaring! Those damn things are hard!

  6. I’m not a big fan of jumps either. And so funny on the “pre-burn”. I had a friend that would go run with me on Friday’s so we could pre-burn our beer too 😉

  7. cold oats in a jar are so refreshing after a workout. I can’t wait til i have a jar ready for one, mmm!

    have a great Saturday!

  8. I love simple meals like your dinner, because they’re so quick & basic and usually taste amazing! 🙂

    I like overnight oats, but I use equal amounts of oats, milk, and plain greek yogurt and I like the taste all mixed together topped with jam or something. The texture is a little funk at first, but I find them really refreshing now though. I do not, however, like the craze of blended overnight oats smoothies…gaaaaahh-rooooosss.

  9. why did you switch gyms?
    dang girl, im sitting here with a bag of m&ms in my hand and im wishing i have that same love for exercise as you! you look so toned and healthy!

  10. I love spin class! I definitely go a few times a week.

    Also it’s too funny that you said this about overnight oats. I tried them for the first time today and I did not enjoy it at all. I ended up heating them up in the microwave a bit. The coldness was just yucky!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

