Beerly Made It to Friday

TGIF Y’all! Whew – it’s a good thing today’s Friday; I’m not sure I could put in one more day of work. I think everyone who put in their 40 this week deserves a pat on the back, or at least a beer… but that’s just my opinion.

In my WIAW post I said I was having raspberries in my protein oats all week, but I changed it up a bit. When I saw the farmer’s stand still had fresh, local peaches, I couldn’t help myself.

peaches n' whey [protein]

Awesomeness.

You know what else is awesome? These 2 beers I tried last weekend. I didn’t take notes, so instead of doing a full review on only 1, I decided to combine 2 mini reviews in 1 post.

Lagunitas A Little Sumpin Sumpin Ale

It’s a very hoppy ale that has the flavor of an IPA with a hint and backbone of a wheat. It’s a hybrid of sorts. No matter the official label, I call it darn tasty!

sumpin sumpin

For months I looked all over town to get my hands on a six-pack or fresh pint of this. I finally got lucky at a specialty shop – though they only had 5 in stock. The shop charged $2.25 per bottle, so I only got 4. At 7.5% ABV, I guess I didn’t really need too much of this stuff anyway.

Post Road Pumpkin Ale

I think this one’s more of a C- or B-grade beer. I like the spice, but something about it just doesn’t seem authentic. (I have no better way of describing it.) Brooklyn Brewer’s Post Road is also too light on pumpkin flavor.

Post Road

Luckily, I enjoyed this beer while sitting around a fire pit with some friends. It was definitely the perfect context for the season’s first pumpkin brew.

Have you tried any new beers lately? What’s your favorite pumpkin brew?

PS: For those of you following my tweets, last night’s hair appointment was very relaxing!

book wine hair

Stumble It!

24 Comments to “Beerly Made It to Friday”

  1. Always look for a pumkin ale/beer to serve halloween but haven’t been thrilled. TGIF agreed.

  2. i wish they made GF pumpkin ale. I’d be in heaven. Kinda like that hair appointment, totally chill and relaxed! love it. Happy Friday!

  3. I need to go to your hair salon! I haven’t tried any new beers lately to be honest. I haven’t even picked up a pumpkin beer yet 😦

  4. Lagunitas also makes a Little Sumpin Sumpin WILD. It registers a 9.4%, but it is very smooth! For a respectable pumpkin, try the Schlafly. It is a nice, easy drink with a good spark of cinnamon! Happy Friday.

  5. I have to try pumpkin beer! Everyone says it’s soooo good.

    Totally jealous of your hair appointement…I need mine done in a bad way!

  6. My salon gives you wine & beer when you come in as well! 🙂 I haven’t met a Lagunitas beer I didn’t like so far. They were a pleasant recent discovery.

  7. Pumpkin Ale! Hooray! I’ve been lucky enough to try quite a few and my favorite was actually this New Belgium Lips of Faith beer called “Kick” which is not just pumpkin…but cranberry as well! It’s SOOO good, and I’m not even a big “beer girl”. 🙂

  8. My husband works next door to a beer distributor, he’s definitely getting a call later this afternoon to bring home a 6 pack of something or not bother walking through the door. It’s already been THAT kind of day!
    Let’s see the new do!

  9. Haha nice wine at the hair salon, love it!

    I had the MOST delish pumpkin ale last year and obviously I cannot remember the name. It was at a local deli in MD, and it on was tap.. oh man it was good. I will have to ask my hubby if he remembers the name.

  10. Um, I’ve never had pumpkin beer! I’m so intrigued and I keep hearing about it so I think I’m gonna have to go get me some 🙂

    • It’s hit or miss, and they’re definitely not my favorite. However, if you think you’d like a semi-sweet one with pumpkin pie spice, I’d go with Jack’s Pumpkin Spice Ale, a Bud product.

  11. I’d love some pumpkin beer recommendations. Not a fan of the Post Rd or of Smuttynose, which is a travesty, since I’m a NH resident haha. I don’t like super dark or heavy beers. Well, really, I don’t really love beer, but I feel like I’d like the right pumpkin one!

  12. Pumpkin Ale…that sounds so good and I don’t even drink ale.

  13. I’m not normally much of a beer drinker (I know, I know, weird) but I think pumpkin ale is something I might enjoy!

  14. is that wine? while you’re getting your hair cut?? jealous! I’m excited to try more pumpkin beers this fall! I just had the blue moon one and i was NOT impressed.

  15. I’m jealous of your peach oats – they look amazing!

  16. Mmmmm peach oats look so good! And pumpkin beer, I’ve never even heard of it before! Your blog definitely taught me something today haha 🙂

  17. No beer for me but those peach oats look AMAZING! Wow. I know what I’m having for breakfast tomorrow!

  18. Mmm pumpkin beer… delish 🙂 And peach oats sound glorious too!

  19. Oooh I love that you get a glass of red at your salon! Normally just get cheap fake champers at mine! Can’t wait to see your new hair! 🙂

  20. I’ve gotta brag…my hubster makes the best pumpkin ale and it keeps getting better and better. Unfortunately he rarely makes the same beer twice, so am savoring this batch. Am with you on the Lagunitas – great stuff!

Leave a Reply

