WIAW: Ugly Edition

It’s time for another What I Ate Wednesday (WIAW). I feel awful about this, but this week’s WIAW is the Ugly Edition. No pretty food here!

I’m eating the same thing M-F for breakfast, lunch, and snack all week… unless I get a chocolate craving, of course. Dinner will change a little, but even that is pretty basic.

I start my protein packed day with first breakfast, which is a salt-free rice cake with 1 TBS of natural peeb. It’s great workout fuel.

Second breakfast a few hours later is a third of a cup of old fashioned oats, half a banana (mashed in oats), and one scoop of natural vanilla whey protein. I also have one third of a cup of raspberries on the side.

Lunch is the ugliest meal of the day, but darn is it filling! I have two servings of lean deli meat, half a sweet potato (I guess approx 7 oz), and one 50-calorie pack of steamed Brussels sprouts. It’s ugly, but it’s yummy. That’s what counts, right?

I usually try not to buy deli meat for various reasons, and now I have one more reason to add to the list. Sodium! I knew deli cuts had a lot of sodium, but I didn’t realize how much until after I got home from the store. Whoops!

Snack has been 110 calories worth of 2% cottage cheese and 15 raw almonds. This is a very fatty yet protein-packed snack. It’s ugly, but it’s incredibly satisfying!

Dinner has been meat, a green vegetable, and a carb. Typical. I had the same thing Monday and Tuesday, beef tenderloin. I enjoyed it with a spinach salad Monday night and broccoli last night.

Tonight is chicken night instead. Chicken gets boring fast, but I have to admit that I really do like the taste of plain ole’ baked chicken. I’m not sure if I’ll pair it with rice, quinoa, or something else all together.

Snacks have been all over the place (whole wheat pita, peeb, or popcorn), so they aren’t pictured. I don’t really think you need any more pictures of ugly food anyway, do ya???

Do you often eat “plain” meals at your house? Or does something generally have a sauce or require a real recipe?
Be sure to check out Peas and Crayons for other great meal ideas!

PS: At least Leia finds them attractive…

26 Responses to “WIAW: Ugly Edition”

  1. I eat plain stuff all the time! For some reason I crave the simpleness. Whenever we go out to eat I think I make cooks mad since I always ask for sauces and stuff on the side haha 😉
    Happy WIAW to you and Leia!

  2. I’m a plain gal but I do love to stir peanut butter/flour into my foods (yogurt, sweet potatoes, cereal).
    You just reminded me how much I LOVE the cottage cheese/almond combination (or cottage cheese/trail mix combo)… I haven’t had that in a long time… on my shopping list =)

  3. I need some type of sauce or rub on my meat. It’s just too boring otherwise!

  4. It’s usually the ugly food that tastes the best! I eat a lot of the same things every day too. What can I say.. I know what I like :] I often eat plain foods and don’t need sauce unless it’s ketchup for sweet potato fries which I’ve developed a bit of an obsession with at the moment.

  5. Alot of the time, when in a hurry, things are plain and simple and weirdly matched. Whatever works, ya know?

  6. 2 of my best recipes are VERY ugly…it’s almost cool because people look and think yuck and then they eat it and are blown away! So fun! Happy Wednesday Tiff

  7. Hahaha I think 95% of my eats are totally ugly. Even glamour shots in the light box can’t always make things pretty 😉 haha

  8. I think that ugly food is the tastiest food! My oatmeal always looks like baby mush, but is the delight of my day 🙂

  9. Sometimes simple meals satisfy me the most, especially if I want to taste the flavor of something without having it masked by sauces. I was always a pretty simple eater though. I remember one of my favorite meals when I was growing up was baked chicken with plain mashed potatoes and corn. Nothing fancy but extremely satisfying 😀

  10. I usually go a route where I can mix something prepackaged (like quinoa) with other veggies and a protein and then add spices. No recipe necessary. It’s not gourmet, but it’s usually pretty good!

  11. This is where I feel as though my eats aren’t probably as.. ‘pure’ shall we say as some bloggers out there and tbh I really want to work on it. I eat deli meat quite a bit and hardly ever make a sauce due to not having all the ingredients on hand so just endy up with ketchup – sodium fest haha! All your eats look so good even if they are simple to make – simple is usually tastiest! Leia is gorgeous, so cute 😉

  12. I usually need at least one “fun” ingredient or sauce or something on my meals, but plain ones happen too from time to time. 😉

  13. Our meals vary depending on the mood we are in, but we usually don’t do lots of sauces.

  14. I definitely doesn’t matter how pretty the food is, as long as it’s yummy!!! 🙂 i eat plain meals all the time!

  15. I really like plain chicken too – it’s yummy 🙂

  16. I love plain stuff. It tends to be more wholesome! Your meals look nice, filling and in my eyes, pretty good. Maybe I’m boring? haha.

    I do, however, usually add hot sauce. The hotter the better for me 🙂

  17. Aww Leia looks like my kitty! Happy WIAW!

  18. My meals during the day are usually pretty boring. At night I try to kick it up a notch, but sometimes I just throw together the easiest thing possible 🙂

  19. If I had to choose one dinner meal to have the rest of my days it would be plain ol’ steamed vegetables. No cheese, no sauce, just the veggies 🙂

  20. Those look like good quality meals, not ugly!

  21. I typically have a sauce of some sort… it’s so easy to throw together. I didn’t realize how salty deli meat was until I didn’t have it for a year. Someone brought cold cuts to work recently and I could barely eat my sandwich because the meat tasted so salty to me!

  22. I love all these meals – these resemble exactly what I’d eat any day! Nothing wrong with “ugly” food 🙂
    Usually if I don’t cook meat with a sauce or marinade, I’ll eat it with some Greek Yo or hummus on the side.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

