A Weekend of Pictures

I hope everyone had a good weekend. Mine was too short, but it was good. I had a very relaxed Friday, but Saturday was a bit more eventful.

I worked out, baked, bought shoes, and enjoyed a date night with the mister. For my workout, I continued the Vacation Countdown plan from last week. I wish I were actually using it to count down to a vacation! I also did 45 very sweaty minutes of cardio on the stationary bike.

I felt a bit sore Sunday from all that leg work, but it wasn’t too bad. It’s good to feel the burn!

I’m glad I worked so hard at the gym, I needed to pre-burn Saturday’s snack. I know frozen yogurt is trendy right now, and while I don’t deny it’s yum-ness, I have to confess that I prefer good ole’ fashion ice cream.

This one’s got peanut butter and brownie bits inside. I couldn’t think of a better combo if I tried! Here’s a random fact about me, one of my favorite smells in the whole world is the smell of an ice cream parlor. I consider it a comfort smell; it brings back memories – and usually means I’m about to get ice cream!

Although they probably should have, the indulgences didn’t stop there. Kev and I had a great date night. With dinner, I enjoyed a Wolf Hill Brewing Co Trooper’s Alley IPA (say that five times fast) with my steak.

Sadly, the filet was over cooked and dry, but at least the beer was good! The restaurant got all their meat from local farms. Sweet.

We weren’t ready to end the night just yet, so we went for a nightcap at a different lounge/restaurant/bar/thing. I had a really awesome wine (not a great beer selection), and Kev got scotch. For the wine-o readers out there, I had a glass of Edge Cabernet Sauvignon 2007.

I detoxed a bit last night with a side salad and veggie wrap. The wrap had hummus, spinach, kalamata olives, grilled onion, and grilled red pepper.

Yes, it was as awesome as it looks! I think it even tasted better than my dry steak from Saturday, but don’t tell Kevin that. 😉

What was the best thing you did/drank/ate this weekend?

30 Comments to “A Weekend of Pictures”

  1. Oh that veggie wrap looks good! Hmmm….the best thing I ate was my Lemon and Thyme Chicken…posting that recipe today…it was sooo good! I also made somecrazy delicious muffins too yesterday…yum! Banana Almond Peanut Butter Nutella…. xoxo from Trinidad

  2. I love the idea of grilling those bell peppers on the George foreman! I gotta do that next time!
    Looks like you had an awesome weekend, hope you have a great week too girl! 🙂

  3. I’m with you on the ice cream thing. Ya just can’t beat a huge waffle cone of delicious ice cream! The peanut butter brownie flavor sounds aaaamazing!

    The wrap you made looks awesome. There’s nothing like grilled veggies and hummus together. Yum!

    I ate some seriously good Mexican food over the weekend and that was definitely the best thing I ate. So good!

  4. Went to dinner with my Mom on Friday night and order a delicious bowl of pasta: lobster, shrimp, peas, crushed tomatoes, and olive oil over cavapatti pasta! It was delicious and perfect before my morning bike on ride on Saturday. It also wasn’t heavy or rich, so I didn’t feel over stuffed. I did clean my plate though. Obviously! Happy Monday!

  5. Mmmm I love grilled veggie wraps! That looks delish!

  6. That wrap looks great. Yummy. Lunch on Saturday was great – not so much the food as the company.

  7. The hubby and I are so in need of a date night!!
    Best thing I ate was eggplant cutlets from TJ’s. Your veggie wrap looks yummy!!

    • Date nights are fun, but sometimes I think they’re too forced or awkward when planned. Is that odd? Then again, if you don’t plan them, they seem to never happen. A catch 22 I suppose… 🙂

  8. I loooove grilling red peppers. I can’t believe there was a time in my life I refused to eat them. What a weirdo I was! 🙂 Looks like you had a great weekend! I had 21st Century’s Hell or High Watermelon on Fri night when I told the bf I wanted to walk to our favorite pub. I love that beer for summertime.

  9. Yes! Ice cream parlor smells are amazing…thanks for the nostalgia this morning. 🙂 [And the thought of PB and brownie bits makes my stomach very happy…even if it is only 8AM here.]

  10. I ate waaaay too much food on Saturday. We had family up and I gorged on appetizers and dinner. Yikes!

  11. I am so with you on the yogurt. We always get yogurt, but I’m an ice cream girl all the way. I will eat a pint of Ben and Jerry’s no problem with no regrets. It’s so good! We had date night too and went to an actual Mexican restaurant and it was AMAZING!

  12. Shoes, you bought shoes? Do share!

    Best part of my weekend was picking out baby stuff =)

  13. I prefer ice cream over froyo, as well, although I’ve never aid attention to the smell of an ice cream shoppe. Gonna have to take a big whiff the next time I’m in one. I went to see The Help this weekend, which I enjoyed (although not as much as the book), and the best thing I ate was probably a slice of my mom’s cherry cake. Takes me back to when she would bake for me when I was little 😀

  14. YUM! That IPA looks delicious…I won’t even try to type it, much less say is 🙂 I love that you guys didn’t want the date to end – aww 🙂

  15. Ooh that wrap looks yummy! And ice cream def beats fro yo! Although I do love both! 🙂 The best thing I ate this weekend was a nice big fat slice of birthday cake and the best thing I drank is a toss up between a mojhito and a gin and tonic. Really shouldn’t have been drinking after being so ill with my kidneys though, whoops!! Back on the wagon today! 🙂

  16. Best thing I ate this weekend was homemade cornbread muffins–I was craving cornbread and they just hit the spot perfectly. I love when cravings live up to their expectations 🙂 I prefer ice cream over froyo, too–but most froyo places have a dairy free sorbet option, while I have yet to find an ice cream parlor that sells soy or other non-dairy ice cream.

  17. Yum that veggie wrap looks awesome! The best thing I did this weekend was safely make it to Florida after an 18 hour drive!

  18. I had some yummy pork chops this weekend. Simple yet tasty.

  19. I ❤ george foreman. Veggies on the grill is so amazing!!

    This weekend I kept things pretty simple eating wise. I'm trying to eat things up in the fridge before i leave for college this coming weekend!

  20. Well, In my opinion IPA is the best kind of beer and cabernet sauvignon is my favorite kind of wine sooo thumbs up for this post 🙂 haha. The best thing I ate this weekend was a white pizza with buffalo milk ricotta and cherry tomatoes.. with a glass of cabernet sauvignon!

  21. Aww, that is a cool pic of the hubs, I wish I had a nice camera to do pics like that! That reminds me, I think my BF and I r due for a date night….hehe

  22. Hmmm…best thing I ate was definitely birthday cake and pizza. Simple yet always delicious and a true treat as we rarely have either. I enjoyed every bite! 🙂 I would prefer your veggie wrap over steak anyday!!

  23. I agree ice cream is better! Sounds like you had a fun weekend and the food looks great!

  24. Since we have no cool frozen yogurt places around us, I’m all about the old fashioned ice cream too. And I know exactly what you mean about the smell of them. It does smell so good 🙂

  25. Finally! A beer blogger after my own heart. My fiance and I brew and we love craft beers!

    I will be following and see what your drinking. Can you believe the Oktoberfest beers are already in store?!

    • I want to get my hands on a few of my fall favs, but I’m trying to hold off. I don’t know if I’d get the full enjoyment until it’s actually fall… or at least a bit closer! Thanks for dropping by!

Leave a Reply

