WIAW: Normal Edition

Guess what!!! I flailed around in the water swam for 15 continuous minutes yesterday morning! Woohoo! That’s a first for me. Here was the overall workout: I completed 10 minutes of lower body pilates before heading into the pool. I then swam 15 minutes, walked 1 minute, and swam 14 more minutes. It was an excellent start to the day!

Okay… moving on to the yum stuff….

I wish I had a cool theme for you guys this week, such as WIAW Dessert Edition, Vacation Edition, or even Pretty Picture Edition, but I don’t. Luckily, WIAWs are always fun as-is. Check out Peas & Crayons for other WIAW posts.

Breakfast has been broken into only 2 parts this week. Yeah… crazy. I’m having 1 of the 2 Kashi Pumpkin Spice Flax Crunchy bars or a banana pre-workout. I thought the bars would be like Nature Valley bars, but they’re actually sooooo much better.

From Official Kashi Site

Once I get to the office, I’m having 1 scoop (80 calories) of all-natural vanilla whey protein cooked in 1/3 cup of oats. I top that with a shake of pumpkin pie spice and 3 diced almonds. The protein to oats ratio is a little off, so it comes out sort of like a rubber muffin top. It’s not particularly tasty, but it’s fun to eat and super filling.

alien protein oats

Lunch is the awesomeness I described in yesterday’s recipe. It reheats very well.

tuscan food is good, even if it's not tuscan

So far, snack has been either a pink lady apple or a plum with 1 serving of 2% cottage cheese. Although it’s pretty good, I think I may change it out one or two days with a Larabar, yogurt, or something a little more sinful. Muah-ha-ha-ha! I hope I see a cookie in my future!

plum

Ya think that was a gigantic blueberry at first?

Dinner Monday and Tuesday was vegerific. I made a bag of these veggies with a little extra broccoli slaw added to the mix while I cooked 1 serving of quinoa (divided between both nights).

veg love

I served baked general tsao’s tofu. Yum! Yes… I’m one of those oddballs who actually likes tofu, especially baked.

general tsao's tofu bowl

Tonight will be an Italian-style bake of eggplant, zucchini, chickpeas, red sauce, and Parmesan or feta. I’m pretty pumped!

Of course every night has at least 1 treat. Monday was half a green apple with a spoon of peeb, but Tuesday included loads of popcorn. Who knows was I’ll be craving later tonight!

What was the best thing you’ve eaten lately? Are you a fan of tofu?

50 Comments to “WIAW: Normal Edition”

  1. i’m a fan of tofu! but i eat it in dessert/pudding/smoothie form!

  2. Ive only had tofu once but I want to try it again. Great eats 🙂

  3. Oh, Im actually a huge fan of tofu 😀 I have a hard time allowing myself all sorts of food, tofu being one of them. But Im working on it, and I really enjoy tofu when I eat it 😀
    Best thing I have eaten today: Without a doubt oat pancakes with cashew butter and berries ❤
    Happy WIAW 🙂

  4. Bahaha that plum does look like a giant blueberry! I’ve only had raw tofu on a salad bar before, but I really want to try it again 🙂

  5. Love tofu! Do you buy a certain kind of general tso sauce?

  6. Not a fan of tofu at never – never really liked it! The best thing I ate all week was the new dessert I made last night – HOLEY MOLEY it was awesome…Baked Peaches with Pine Nuts & Vanilla ice cream…SO good! Have a great day girl! xoxo from Trinidad

  7. Oh everything looks yummy.
    I loveee tofu! Using it in tofu ‘scrambles’ and stirfries, its just so yummy.
    Alot of people I know dont like it, but I feel thats because they didnt have it prepared for them properly, or probably just ate it plain out of the packet, erk.
    Also you should try popcorn drizzled with maple syrup, oh god its good!

  8. I say I am not a fan of tofu, but I have honestly never given it a fair chance! I am reluctant to cook with it and have never ordered it at a restaurant before. No good reason for this though, so I think it’s time to change my ways 🙂

  9. This week hasn’t been filled with deliciousness yet. It’s been a bust. I hope to change that tonight!

  10. Not a fan of tofu. It is one of the most highly processed soy products on the market and I have hypothyroism so soy is a big no-no for me. But even still I would prefer to eat soy in a natural form.

  11. Love tofu! I only really like it baked when I make it because it gets slightly crispy on the outside. Mmmm.

    And a larabar sounds like a great snack. Love those little things.

  12. I’ve actually never tried tofu…. I just… dont get it lol

  13. I love tofu too, not sure why people hate on it, maybe the texture?
    I need to try those kashi bars cause i love the nature valley ones 🙂

  14. Everything looks so good and sounds like you had an awesome start toyour day!

  15. LOVE tofu

    Also love pumpkin Kashi crunchy bars..they are my absolute fave

  16. I do love tofu. In smoothies, in puddings, in stir fries. It’s great as long as you prepare it properly. And the best thing I’ve eaten recently has been homemade chocolate chip banana bread topped with caramel pudding. Exactly what I was craving 😀

  17. Nice job swimming! I like tofu if it’s marinated in yummy kinds of sauces, but on it’s own I’m not the biggest fan. I usually don’t buy it, so the only time I eat it is if I’m at a vegan restaurant

  18. I didn’t even know kashi had crunchy granola bars??? Oh dear…

  19. Love super thick oats + protein powder and pool workouts. Just add a beer to the pool workout and you’re set!!

  20. 15 minutes is impressive. I can’t even get my freestyle stroke done properly past two strokes!

    • Thanks! Even before I feel my body getting really tired or my heart rate getting super elevated, I feel my form slipping. That’s definitley not good when you aren’t exactly a stellar swimmer to begin with!

  21. That is great! Swimming is tough! I bought stuff (goggles, cap, etc) and still haven’t gone to the pool. You remind me to get on that.
    Love your eats! The tofu looks delicious!

  22. I’m totally intimidated by swimming so I really admire you going for it- way to go!

  23. Just found your blog WIAW! I was tempted by your blog name…. love me some beer. And sweat. Speaking of…. Corona extra (with a slice of lime and dash of salt) made an appearance on my WIAW. At least I know you wouldn’t judge! haha

  24. I love tofu too! I grill it on my george forman and its gets so yummy!!!

  25. ” rubber muffin top” That has a nice ring to it. LOL.

    I like tofu raw. So I’m a weirdo too. I mash it up with nooch and olive oil and nutreast and I can go to town. I also like to use it in dips.

  26. I’m a crazy person who likes tofu too!!! I don’t really make it myself very often, but I like it at restaurants. I had a cool tofu scramble sandwich on Sunday and it was delicious!

  27. mmm, tofu!! all delicious eats 🙂

    Sam @ fitness food & faith (giveaway today!)

  28. Such delicious variety of fooood! Those Kashi bars sound delicious!! I like tofu! Mixes well.

  29. HI Tiff, just found your blog via your comment on Kristen’s Swanky Dietician. I’m so glad I found you. Love your posts, health and beer CAN go hand in hand! 🙂 Thanks, I’ve bookmarked and will visit often.

  30. Plums are so underrated! I love them and always have. I go through phases with tofu. I bought a block this week and I’m kind of over it already. I’ve always said I would like to get into swimming, but the whole process of finding a pool, paying for it and finding a suit sounds like such a pain. My real reason for liking running = it’s free, shhh don’t tell.

  31. Swimming is the most amazing way to start a day in my opinion. It’s just so refreshing! Congrats on going 15 minutes straight!!
    As for me, I just recently decided I liked tofu. I bought a lot of vegetarian cookbooks that offer great ways to spice it up and make it really delicious! It’s so versatile, so I like that I now know what to do with it. I made an “Indian Tofu Scramble” – and it was the best thing ever.

  32. I bought some Kashi bars today! I love them 🙂 I had tofu once and to be honest I was not a fan =/

  33. I love Kashi products! Those bars look amazing! Happy WIAW!

  34. Haha! If that WAS a blueberry, stay away! Some serious GMO going on right there 😉
    I do love tofu!! As long as it is somewhat crispy on the outside then I’m a fan. It’s really tasty when made correctly 🙂

  35. Baked is my favorite way to eat tofu. Yours looks awesome! I’m having some serious food envy from the confines of my small-town hotel room. 🙂

  36. I ate some amazing lobster this week!!

  37. i LOVE that you eat your veggies from a pre-sliced grab bag. More variety, less effort! mmmmm.

    Happy WIAW! 😀

    • Yeah, I don’t usually buy pre-cut stuff, but this also comes with broccoli slaw in it, so it’s super convenient. Plus, it surprisingly affordable, even when compared to frozen veg. Crazy, right?

  38. General Tso Tofu sounds sooooo good right now! Though I have taste tested it every which way… and I really love it lightly pan fried. Everything else i prefer baked EXCEPT that! I’M SO WEIRD! =) hehe

    Happy NORMAL but still super fun WIAW Tiff!

  39. General Tso Tofu sounds great! Do you have the recipe in one of your previous posts?

    • Actually no, I don’t. It was a bottled sauce, so there wasn’t much to it. I didn’t even want to picture the sauce since I don’t really recommend it. I mean, it was good, but not rave-worthy. If you like your sauces kind of sweet though, it’s Target brand (Market Pantry) General Tso. There wasn’t toooo much sugar, so I decided to give it a whirl.

Leave a Reply

