Right to the {Bullet} Point

Happy Birthday Kevin!

Puerto Rico - 2009

Moving on… due to my foot pain, I will be doing a significant amount of pool workouts in the coming weeks, unless I get awesome news from the podiatrist on Friday. I have never been much of a swimmer, so swimming laps is a real workout for me. I plan for my week to look something like this:

  • Monday: 15 minutes of abdominal work and cardio in the pool + light evening pilates
  • Tuesday: high-rep chest/triceps/shoulders with resistance bands and 8-pound dumbbells
  • Wednesday: 15 minutes of hip/booty sculpting and cardio in the pool + light evening pilates
  • Thursday: high-rep back/biceps workout with resistance bands and 8-pound dumbbells
  • Friday: 15 minutes of abdominal work and cardio in the pool
  • Saturday + Sunday: rest and/or yoga (unless the doctor says otherwise)

Yesterday morning, I this pool workout.

  • 5 minutes walking laps in the pool
  • 5 minutes swimming
  • 2 .5 minutes walking
  • 5 minutes swimming
  • 2.5 minutes walking
  • 5 minutes swimming
  • 2.5 minutes walking and kick-boarding
  • 5 minutes of stretching at the pool steps

I know it’s not a real burner of a workout, but it worked for me. I bought my first pair of swim goggles weekend, and it made my workout much more pleasant. If I wasn’t goofy looking enough due to my poor swimming form, the goggles made me look even more like a goober.

kitty swim

Cleo

This is a long post, but I’m not done with bullet points just yet. After having already finished these books so far in 2011:

  • Last Night in Twisted River
  • Sarah’s Key
  • Three Cups of Tea
  • The Art of Racing in the Rain
  • No Country for Old Men
  • Part of an Awful Book (I can’t recall the title or author- pretty awful)
  • The Help (my fav so far this year)
  • Chapter 1 of The First World War by Keegan (soooooo interesting!)
  • Mozart’s Women
  • The Pillars of the Earth
  • The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (just finished it Friday)

I find myself without a book. I tried to check out these three at the library, but there are a lot of people already waiting for them.

  • Room
  • Unbroken: A WWI story of… (I forgot the rest of the title)
  • Wuthering Heights (nope, never read it)

Suggestions Encouraged! What should I read next???

36 Responses to “Right to the {Bullet} Point”

  1. Right now I’m about to read Little Bee, Home Safe and currently reading Unwind (very adolescent). I have the Help on hold haha. I’ve heard the book Hitman was actually very interesting. It’s all about the Boston gangs etc. I don’t typically read nonfiction but am thinking about picking that up afterward. I always seem to have a long list!

  2. I LOVED “The Help” and “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo!” – I’m currently reading “Cutting for Stone” which is really good as well. HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO KEVIN! That picture of him is too cute. Hope you have a speedy recovery with the foot – at least there’s always the pool 🙂

  3. I love the help! I’m still reading it. I hope I can finish before the movie comes out!

  4. I recommend The Hunger Games! I’ve read a lot of the same books as you. Loved The Help too!

  5. Hmmm…..so sorry to hear about your foot girl! Major bummer – will keep you in my prayers though! I’m finally back home now – cant wait to have a nice long run later! Again, major thanks for the guest blog! xoxo from Trinidad

    Make sure you stop over today… http://thehinzadventures.blogspot.com/2011/08/truthful-tuesday-let-your-truth-out.html

  6. Water for Elephants! Really good. The other two Dragon Tattoo books are also awesome – I’m kind of sad to have read them already!

  7. Ahh I LOVE reading :). You can check out my favs that I’ve listed on my blog! I recently read The Hypnotist by Lars Kepler – it’s another swedish crime novel…really really good and it goes quickly! Also, I just finished The Hunger Games series and I am obsessed with them! They were awesome!

  8. I just read 2 books last week – Something borrowed and Something blue. I am embarrassed to admit that I havent FINISHED a book in over 10 years. My ADD kicks in and i move on to another one. But i finished two last week and was so happy to finish them 🙂

  9. ooo I just saw ROOM at the store and wanted to read it!

  10. My hubby loves swimming as a workout. When he’s not being lazy, he actually takes masters’ classes at a local athletic club. My idea of swimming is basically getting to and from a float 😉

  11. Great book list! I need to read some of them! Right now in my book club we are reading The Three Junes…it’s okay. I also have read The Paris Wife this year and loved that! Also…if you haven’t read The Hunger Games trilogy, you should! It’s amazing!

  12. I have a copy of The Secret Life of Bees waiting for me. It was recommended as a good read, but I can’t add my own recommendation yet.

  13. Keep reading the Stieg Larssen series — so good!

  14. The Glass Castle is an interesting, albeit disturbing read. I’m reading Drowing Ruth right now. An oldy but so far goody from Oprah’s book club back in the 90’s. Check out Jenna’s book reviews if you haven’t already (eatliverun.com) she’s got a ton on there!

  15. Tiff –

    Four books are on the way: Breath of God, Poacher’s Son, Tatoos on the Heart, and Twelve by Twelve. I bet you’ll find at least one that you like.

  16. Happy birthday Kevin! 🙂 Hope your foot gets better soon hun! I would say keep reading the girl with the dragon tattoo series, all really good books!! 🙂

  17. I haven’t read any great books lately, but have been really wanting to get into something good.

  18. Pool workouts are really, really good for you. I wish I could swim …. but I can’t. Because I suck.

    I hope your foot feels better soon!

    http://www.glamkittenslitterbox.com/
    Twitter: @GlamKitten88

    • I’m really not so awesome at it, but at least I get a workout from it – even if I resemble “flailing” about as much as “swimming.”

  19. Just started reading A Visit from the Goon Squad, it’s a Pulitzer Prize winner and is excellently written, has amazing characters, is quirky, and is still highly readable. I highly recommend! Or, if you want a little less cerebral and intensely fun, go for Hunger Games (yeah yeah, YA–but so much fun). And Room is amazing, so keep checking back at the library!

  20. Taking up swimming seems like an awesome challenge. Good luck!

  21. The Help is awesome and The Time Traveler’s Wife is my very favorite book ever! I just bought The Kitchen House and The Hunger Games books but I haven’t received ’em yet to start reading!

  22. The next “Girl With a ….” book. The next two just get more and more suspenseful, but not quite so gruesome…or maybe it just seemed that way in relationship to the first book… ! But the whole series is a “read them all to get the full effect” set.

    • It was definitely on the gruesome side. I will look into the others. I was thinking of reading them, and the consensus seems to be “finish the series!”

  23. I wish I had access to a pool!! My knees are pretty jacked up and I know it would be better for me than the running and walking I do!

  24. I was thinking about reading ‘The Help,’ and now with your recommendation I will!! I just read the Hunger Games books, sooo good. I definitely recommend them 🙂

  25. I did not realize No Country for Old Men was a book. The movie scared the crap out of me, though. Was the book any good?

    • It was okay. That’s the second one of that author’s books I have read. He’s pretty dry, and there’s usually a lot of blood. Not bad though.

  26. I love WW2 books! I am gonna have to check those out!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

