An Attempt at a Healthier Weekend

Here is my disclaimer. I did not have a “healthy” weekend. It was neither low-calorie nor active, and I didn’t really make an effort to maintain my regular sleeping patterns either. However…

Given that I usually indulge in a few beers, entire pizzas, and a handful of other indulgences, I can say this weekend was healthier than most. I’m fairly good at sticking to a nutritious diet throughout the week, and I know I really need to clean up my weekends to be the weight I want to be. On the other hand, knowledge doesn’t always mean power, especially willpower.

Shape Magazine helps explain why weekends matter:

According to a study from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, women consume about 115 more calories on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday than they do on weekdays. “Those extra 300 to 400 calories can leave you nine pounds heavier by the year’s end,” says Barry Popkin, Ph.D., the study’s lead author.

So what was different this weekend? For starters, I maintained balanced, low-calorie, produce-packed meals all day Friday, and I ordered this at dinner:

steamer

What did I want to order? Beer with cashew chicken in a high-sugar and high-sodium brown sauce. What did I actually order? Steamed veggies, steamed shrimp, brown rice, terriyaki sauce on the side, and a water. The waitress brought white rice instead, but ya’ win some, lose some. Seriously – I was so proud of myself for this meal!

On Saturday, I had a heavy but fill breakfast sandwich at a coffee shop. Breakfast included this little gem.

Lattelicious! I had half a sub for lunch, and a home cooked meal for dinner. I opted for a chicken breast instead of ribs. I don’t like grits or ribs; how do I call myself Southern?

I may have over-eaten a bit, and had some cheesecake for dessert, but nothing was too crazy. I also had a couple bottled beers (surprise). I love draft beer, but 16-oz pints add up a lot fast than a 12-oz bottles.

Last night, Kev and I enjoyed roast Brussels sprouts with all-natural chicken sausages. I prefer to eat in-season produce, but sprouts are too good for one-season only!

Do you stick to a “diet” on the weekend, or do you go a little crazy too?

If you keep your weekends healthy, what are your secrets!?!?

32 Responses to “An Attempt at a Healthier Weekend”

  1. Those Brussel Sprouts look SO good! They are my favorite veggie! I try to keep a healthy diet all the time – if i want something not-so healthy, i will have a tiny bit….i just feel that i have worked really hard to get in shape and i would hate to let myself go! i try to stick to LOTS of veggies, yummy soups for lunch and love my protein packed low cal chicken salad!

  2. Nice job! That steamed dish from the restaurant actually looks really delicious! πŸ™‚ On weekends, if we’re grilling I’ll opt for chicken breast and tons of veggies with some fruit for dessert, but going out to eat is another story haha Since we rarely go out, I always splurge at restaurants πŸ˜€

  3. Ohhh, I could dive right into that last plate! Roasted brussels are sooooo good! I used to be fairly decent at staying “healthy” over the weekends, but lately, my social life has taken a sharp incline and I’ve found myself downing more pizza, beer, and wine than I care to admit! But hey, that’s what the gym’s for right?? I wish I could say that I work out because I “oh so love it” but let’s call attention to that fat ass elephant in the room…workouts equal burned calories…calories that can later be “used” for pizza, beer, and wine! πŸ˜‰

    Of course, I’d take that plate of steamy goodness anyday…healthy or not! mmm!

  4. I tend to go a little more crazy on the weekends. I think part of it is just wanting to stave off the stress from the week and enjoy yourself πŸ™‚

  5. I pretty much stick to the same routine on the weekends with the exception of maybe going out to eat once. My only downfall on the weekend is the extra wine and not sticking to a normal eating schedule. So I might eat a lot later than I normally would.

  6. I just eat how I normally eat on the weekends….I feel like day to day my eating style doesn’t change to much! Glad to see you had a fun weekend of eats though!

  7. I try to stay healthy even over the weekends but I would say that I do probably consume more calories. I just think, oh it’s ok, it’s the weekend! However I am trying to get back to my pre new york weight at the moment so I should probably really cut my weekend indulgences down a little! :/ Definitely agree with Corey about the whole remembering all your hard work when making food choices. That does slow me down some! πŸ™‚

  8. I definitely go a little crazy on weekends. It’s only two days as opposed to doing so for five during the week!

  9. Great post. I think I tend to struggle with weekend eating. Well, you saw my post this past weekend. πŸ˜‰
    For the most part, I do well, just splurge on one or two meals. I need to keep this quote from Shape in mind.

  10. I think it all depends on what I’m doing. As I attended a Pie-luck on Saturday…well, that just led to sugar overload that I am STILL coming down from…

  11. I did pretty good this weekend too! Yay!

    but honestly I tend to eat closer to 500 extra calories each weekend day, but I’m also waaaay more active. I have definitely not gained 9lbs a yr as a result!

  12. I think I eat almost the same things on weekends as on the work days..but it depends also on the time of the year. Now I am on holidays so every days seems like a weekend day. But I know a lot of people who go all “crazy” at weekends and eat like the world is coming to an end πŸ™‚

  13. I have the hardest time keeping my weekends healthy! I find that if we eat at home during the weekend I have more success than I do if we eat at a restaurant!

  14. Well done on your healthier weekend. I usually eat the same way as I do in the weeks as my body is naturally drawn to that kind of food now, which I really enjoy eating. πŸ™‚

  15. I don’t really eat any differently during the weekend than I do during the week. I guess I’m kind of lucky because I crave and love healthier foods, but if I get a craving for ice cream of nachos on a Wednesday, then I allow myself to have it. Stressing about following the perfect diet is probably worse for us in the long run than just giving in to cravings.

  16. IF I only consumed 115 additional calories on the weekends…that’d be fabulous. I bet it’s closer to 800 for me. Alcohol adds up quickly, and eating out is nearly always a disaster. I do try to burn 2x as many calories during weekend workouts which also helps. But weekdays are probably about 1500 calories and weekends are more like 2000-2200.

    • Amen! I’m the same way. I’m not sure how I haven’t added the extra 9 yet since I go well above the 115. Nevertheless, a little weekend tune-up wouldn’t hurt – that’s for dang sure! ha

  17. Love your disclaimers πŸ˜‰ Love lattes too… that picture made me miss coffee!!
    Alcohol calories are the biggest source of calorie increase over the weekend.
    I balance it out though by eating lots of BBQ’d veggies πŸ™‚

  18. Trust me- my weekends are often found in excess. But I don’t let it bother me. For starters, I’m almost twice as active during the weekend as I am during the week. In my opinion, it’s well deserved!

  19. I find eating good during the weekends so hard! Usually I try to only eat out once, that seems to help out. But when I’m at home more, I tend to snack more. I try to get myself to yoga on Saturday mornings to kick off the weekend right. But I think it’s okay to have a few indulgences on the weekend, as long as you don’t go overboard!

  20. I can never stick to a diet on the weekends… My weekends are usually carb and sugar overload!

  21. I try not to, but I always go crazy on the weekends …. I really need to try harder!

  22. I always go a little crazy….oops:)

  23. Ahhh I do kind of go crazy on weekends. Mostly because I go out with friends and dinners out + alcohol = extra calories πŸ˜‰ I eat really good during the week but I do tend to indulge on the weekend! And this weekend is my birthday so it won’t be any different πŸ˜‰

  24. I go way too crazy on weekends too! I need to learn to control myself!

    But you did a great job this weekend! I need to learn some pointers from you πŸ™‚

  25. I definitly find weekends harder… when I’m dieting for a show it’s easier, but now that I’m offseason… and living home with my parents and their junk food habits has been killing me!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

