Clearly Fresh Bags Review

Yesterday’s workout… well, it didn’t happen.  After getting to work early due to my crazy workload, I really just didn’t feel like going to body pump come 6:00 p.m.  Kev so kindly reminded me that you never regret a workout.  True dat.  So I decided to drive my lazy butt from the office to the gym.  When I parked and went to get my bag out of the trunk, I realized it wasn’t there.  No workout clothes.  No shoes.  No workout for me!  I went home and did a 12-oz curl instead.

*****

Remember when I started my little experiment with Clearly Fresh Bags?  Well, on July 5th I put some stuff in some bags.  These Clearly Fresh plastic bags can hold whole or sliced produce, either fruits or veggies, and they supposedly keep it fresher longer than other storage methods.  July 5th was a while ago – let’s see how my produce did…

I took these photos on July 9th.  The banana outside of the bag is clearly a little more brown, but not much.

When flipped, they look about the same.  The banana test was a fail.  Since the hubby likes super fresh bananas (I prefer mine with freckles), I was a little let down by this.

banananananananaI had better luck with my zucchini.  I took these photos on July 19th.  They two veggies look about the same, but the one outside of the bag was soft.  Ick.  I tossed it.  We will be able to eat the bagged zucchini with dinner tonight.

squashSo what’s for dinner, you ask?  Dinner will be grilled zucchini, eggplant, and onion, with turkey burgers.  I’ll have my turkey burger on a mushroom cap (possibly with bbq sauce), and Kevin will have his on a bun, probably with cheese.

In summary, I don’t think I’ll buy the bags.  While I don’t discourage anyone else for buying them, I’m just a cheap-o who didn’t find them quite worth the low price of $3.99 for 10, one-gallon bags.  If you have more issues with stuff going bad, then perhaps they’re for you.

*****

On a side note, while pitting my cherries last night for my morning oats, I couldn’t help but think, “This is the pits.”  Yes, pun definitely intended.  Doesn’t everyone make stupid jokes to themselves while doing mundane tasks???

Well that got me thinking about the  “life is like a bowl of cherries” bit.  See, pitting cherries might not be fun, but it’s worth it. I mean, if we all took the easy road and totally avoided pits, we’d never get to experience peaches, mangoes, nectarines, avocados, cherries, and more.  I’m sorry for the cheesiness, but I just wanted to leave you with something to ponder.

 

Do you make jokes to yourself a lot too?

Have you tried produce-saving bags or other tools?  If so, how’d it go?

23 Comments to “Clearly Fresh Bags Review”

  1. Haha yup all the time! 🙂 As for the bags, produce generally doesn’t last that long in our fridge before we eat it! Things rarely seem to go off unless we find ourselves eating out a few times in a row, which doesn’t happen that often!

  2. I’ve never used produce savers…now with my fruit i’m FINALLY learning to freeze it before it goes bad 🙂

  3. I’ve never used produce savers either, but in general we’ll eat out food before it goes bad. I make cheesy jokes to myself and others all the time. I’m a 100% grade A cheeseball and don’t hide that from anyone! 🙂 My workout didn’t happen yesterday either, but it wasn’t because I forgot my bag. I just was not feeling it and I’m glad I took a day off.

  4. i am the queen of corny jokes. i LOVE them 🙂

  5. Bummer on the bags! I totally make jokes to myself. Sing made-up songs to myself. To an outsider I would probably look crazy! haha, oh well!

  6. Haha I like your little “pit” metaphor! Its true!

  7. Haha yes I love to make jokes to myself…probably because I think they are funny and no one else would :).

  8. Haha I totally make jokes to myself. My boyfriend makes fun of me and is always like “at least you have yourself to crack up at your jokes!” Haha.

    And I’ve never tried any produce saving tools (usually because I go through it so quickly there’s no time to ‘save’ it) but with larger Farmer’s Market buys this summer this would definitely come in handy!

  9. A good tip to keep banana’s longer is to put half the bunch in the fridge – it slows down the ripening process — then when the ones on the counter are all eaten – pull the fridge ones out (they look gross – but trust me, they are still a little unripe on the inside, then after a day try one — they are perfect!) Also, keep your banana’s separate from other fruit – they produce something that make all the other fruit speed up there ripening!

  10. Never tried the produce saving bags. If I have overripe bananas I just peel them and throw them in the freezer for smoothies! I say things that make me laugh all the time and my husband just gives me that look like “seriously” but hey if it makes me laugh then who cares right?!

  11. I try my best to not let produce go bad but sometimes it happens. Oh well!

  12. I’m definitly too cheap to pay that price… and well, food doesnt usually last long enough to go bad in my house lol

  13. I’ve never tried the bags, but they look really cool. I can’t stand slimy, squishy cucumbers/zucchini!

  14. Thanks for the honest review, I’ve always been skeptical of those kinds of bags. Stuff doesn’t go bad in my house often, we eat it all too quickly!

  15. My hubby likes nearly green nanners and I prefer mine a bit more ripe too 😉

    Haven’t tried fresh bags because I’m cheap as well

  16. I have wondered how those bags really worked. I don’t know that you can ever slow down the aging of bananas

  17. Hate, hate, hate pitting cherries! Love the bag experiment.

  18. I have never tried these sorts of bags before… but probably should, especially in this rather oppressive heat. It also helps to keep those damn fruit flies away- gross!

  19. My mother-in-law bought produce bags for me once, and I didn’t really notice a difference. I found that the BEST thing to do for spinach or greens of any kind is to place a damp paper towel in the bag/bin to keep it fresh longer. Plus, we eat our produce pretty quickly so it rarely goes bad 🙂

  20. Shame they didn’t make much of a difference. I never buy produce-saving stuff, but mostly because I’m cheap and hate having a kitchen full of rarely or never used gadgets/tools/products.

Leave a Reply

