What I Ate Wednesday

Is it Friday yet???  No?!?  Okay, then it must be Wednesday at least.  You know what that means – it’s What I Ate Wednesday time.  Woohoo!

First, I want to share a little bit about What I Worked.  As I mentioned, I was in a funk Monday, but I woke up feeling refreshed and ready for action Tuesday morning.  My great workout helped power my good mood, and I bet it gave my metabolism quite a boost too.  I completed the ab work for my July workout, and I did this 45-minute elliptical routine.

Time (minutes) Resistance RPMs Cross-Ramp (optional)
0 – 3 3 145 – 150 10
3 – 5 5 160 – 165 10
5 – 10 6 160 – 165 10
10 – 11 6 150 – 160 7
11 – 12 8 145 – 150 7
12 – 13 10 135 – 145 7
13 – 14 12 120 – 135 7
14 – 15 14 110 – 120 (faster if you can!) 7
15 – 20 6 160 – 165 5
20 – 25 Repeat Minutes 10 – 15 Repeat Minutes 10 – 15 5
25 – 30 6 160 – 165 5
30 – 35 Repeat Minutes 10 – 15 Repeat Minutes 10 – 15 5
35 – 40 6 160 – 165 5
40 – 45 7 – 2 (gradually decrease) 145 – 160 5

Work has been crazy this week.  I stayed late last night and will go in early today.  Sooooo, that means I had to skip my workout this morning.  Have no fear – body pump is here… or at least it will be come 6:15 tonight!

Now that the workouts are out of the way, let’s get into the goodies.  This week I’ve been enjoying my three-part breakfast: pre-workout rice cake, 70-calories of protein shake after the workout, and oats with fruit once I finally get settled at work a couple hours later.  I’ve been loving breakfast lately because I splurged for cherries at the store.  Totally worth it!

bowl

I even threw some NuNaturals alcohol-free vanilla stevia into the oats.  Not bad.  I tried putting some in work coffee.  Very bad.  Sticking to tea from here on out…

Lunch is a salad with goddess dressing.  That sounds boring, but at least it’s pretty.  I also enjoy a few almonds on the side.

salad

Snack is half a bell pepper and homemade yummus (aka: hummus).  I had been wanting to make my own hummus for a while, and I finally did it.  Yay!  It was easy, but I don’t know that I’ll do it often.  Tahini isn’t cheap, so it’s not all that much cheaper to make it yourself – especially when you compare it to TJ’s low hummus prices.

hummus = yummus

Dinner has been great so far this week.  I had salsa chicken two nights and light dinner Monday night to make up for my funky mood.  Tonight will be baked chicken (no added fat in cooking), a mini baked sweet potato, and steamed broccoli.  Yum, yum, and more yum.

After dinner a few nights this week, I’ve snacked on cheesecake ice cream.  It’s sooooo good!  I felt hoodwinked after buying it though.  It’s labeled “naturally flavored,” but I’m not so sure anything in it is all that natural.  There are few FDA regulations on “natural” claims, yet I still don’t always read every package like I should.

cream de chemicals

At the store I thought this ice cream said “natural,” not “naturally flavored” (impulse buy?!?), but I still feel tricked.  The mile-long ingredients list includes HFCS, corn syrup, modified food starch, hydrogenated soybean and/or cottonseed oil, and more.  I think I’m going to start calling it ice chemicals instead, but at least it’s yummy!

Be sure to check out Peas and Crayons’ WIAW blog hop to see all the other great eats!


What was the best thing you ate today?

Are there any ingredients you avoid, or do you buy what looks/tastes good?

41 Comments to “What I Ate Wednesday”

  1. Ooh your food looks great and so organized. Am I the only person who has yet to try nunaturals? Seems that way. I hate when I buy something and realize ingredients or something about isn’t what I expected.

  2. That workout looks like a killer! I may have to try it, when I go to the gym this weekend 😉
    I love cherries too! My mom gave me a bag full, and, yes!- I ate them all =]

  3. The best thing I ate yesterday was my Morningstar Farms Blk bean burger with sauteed spinach on top — yum!!! I usually buy my own hummus…not that much cheeper I find and messy… 🙂

    • They might be a wee bit more cheaply made than fancy varieties, but I don’t care. Morningstar Farms black bean burgers are the tastiest on the market (at least out of the ones I’ve tried).

  4. Love the workout and love your eats! Sometimes the simple things can be so tasty 🙂
    Best thing I ate was a big bowl of yogurt mess with an orange, cereal, greek yogurt, and protein powder!

  5. It’s the first thing in the morning over here and I haven’t eaten anything yet because I’m waiting for breakfast to cook, but I’m hoping it”ll be a day of delicious eats… with possibly some ice cream, because now you have me craving it 😉 As for ingredients that I try to avoid… I don’t like anything too chemical/preservative laden, and I try to avoid stuff like HFCS, but it’s not something I obsess over.

  6. Best thing I ate yesterday? Breakfast nachos and a sweet potato topped with baked beans. Yum.

    I try to avoid over processed sorts of food and I always buy natural ice cream, since I figure it’s already not great for you. I actually like the slow churned stuff though, which is full of junk – go figure. Breyer’s and the store brand always have some okay natural flavors though 🙂

  7. I Really wanna give nunaturals a try!

  8. So far, my oatmeal with a bit of ground cardamom is really hitting the spot!

  9. Work has been nuts for me too! Hate when it interferes with my work out! How dare they. 🙂

    3 part breakfast = awesome idea. In fact, I’m going to implement that one right now.

  10. I’m a sucker for anything that looks good on the shelf. I need to start reading the ingredients more because who knows what kinds of genetically modified ingredients I have been putting into my body for all of these years… That ice cream looks delicious though!

  11. Hahahaa i’m a sucker for the natural sign too, well it must be healthy if it says natural and therefore i can stuff my face with more of said “natural food”
    Glad you are feeling better 🙂

  12. That workout looks hard and great! Oh and so does that ice cream :). I really want some now haha.

  13. I buy some things that I shouldn’t but for the most part I try to look at ingredient lists and nutrition facts. It’s tough sometimes!

  14. ha I avoid a lot of ingredients: HFCS being the number one but really any form of corn syrup, BHT, EDTA, etc Bleh.

  15. I try to buy natural foods and stick to unprocessed but there are those times when I just don’t care and I’ll just pick up something I’ve been craving…whether it be fattening ice cream or cookies!

    Um….and that ice cream sounds amazing!

  16. Strawberry cheesecake ice cream?!!? I’ll take it but you can leave out the unnecessary ingredients! That is the problem with marketing these days they always seem to trick people!

  17. I love making my own humus but I actually think store bought tastes better haha! And I agree its kind of worth it to just get it pre made by the time you get all the ingredients to make you own!

  18. Great workout you have here! I may or may not try it out tomorrow 🙂 And that ice cream… yum to say the very least! A great treat on such hot days like it’s been!

  19. I don’t put tahini in mine when I make it at home…THAT’S how to make it cheaper. 🙂

    But I do buy it at the store when it’s on sale…or I’m feeling lazy.

  20. Oh man I need that strawberry cheesecake ice cream in my life!

  21. Best thing I ate today was my morning green smoothie. 🙂 I know what you mean about deceptive labeling – so annoying! Just be honest already, lol. Sometimes eating something “unnatural” isn’t the worst thing in the world, but don’t lie! 🙂 lol.

  22. the best thing that i WILL eat today is a black cherry float! this is hands down the most delicious thing ever that i’ve eaten this summer 😉
    xo ~ kristina

  23. I don’t think anything can make work coffee better! Best thing I ate was a banana oat shake this mornin!! Can’t stand the naturally flavored claims as if that makes the product health 🙂

  24. I have been loving fresh cherries lately!

  25. So far today the best thing I ate was a perfectly ripe peach that I conveniently almost forgot about until this morning. That with plain whole milk yogurt, a couple scoops of almond butter, and some coconut chips made for a tasty breakfast!

  26. Paul and I call it yummus too! =) hehe! Happy WAIW!!!!!

    I cant do stevia in my coffee either… or tea actually! I dont know why but it tastes bitter to me. but i cant handle sugar either so i’m weiiiiird! lol

  27. I try to avoid excess sugar. Not counting my fruit sugar I try to stay under 20grams a day.

  28. I’m glad I found your blog! I like your take on fitness and fun!

  29. I love making my own hummus. Tahini is expensive, but I bought a HUGE jar for 6.59 at a Lebanese store (it’s attached to a Lebanese restaurant we go to often). It’s easily 3 times as large as the one I buy at the grocery store for 7.99. So just a thought if you have any of those near you! 🙂

  30. A snicker doodle dip (beans) on top of an apple! SOOOO good!

  31. Hahaha I love that you called it “yummus” 🙂 That sounds like the perfect name for it!

    That’s sad about the not-so-natural ice cream 😦

  32. Inthink the best thing that I ate yesterday was the yummy italian inspired I had for dinner last night. In love with Italy right now !!

  33. Inthink the best thing that I ate yesterday was the yummy italian inspired salad that I had for dinner last night. In love with Italy right now !!

  34. gah thats the worst when you buy something without looking @ the label boo ice cream 😦

  35. Your salad looks pretty!!! I love a good salad for lunch!!!

    xo, Ana
    My (Newly)Wed Life

Leave a Reply

