July Workout

After my kinda-sorta-but-not-really time off from working out, it’s time to get down to business.  Did anyone try out my June workout?  If so, I’m curious as to what you thought.  It really built up my backside, and while that was one of the goals, I’m not sure I need to keep building.  So this workout doesn’t have quite as much booty work, but maybe you’ll still sweat your booty off, if that’s a goal of yours.

The two split-style workouts are similar, but it’s important to change up your workouts every four to six weeks, even if the changes are small.  (I want enough time to build muscle without reaching a plateau.)  For simplicity, I usually change it up monthly.  Next month, I hope to throw in more circuits and supersets, so stay tuned for the August workout.

This routine is not advanced, but this is not for beginners either.  I recommend completing 3 sets of 8 to 12 repetitions per set, depending on if it’s a heavy day or light day.  I change it up by throwing in drop sets, pyramid sets, 21s, or big sets of 15 reps every once in a while.  Just do what feels best for you, but 3 sets of 10 is the perfect place to start.  I’m not sure how easy or hard it is yet, since I have only just started it today.

Monday

  • Barbell Curl
  • Twisting Resistance Band Curl (or with Cable)
  • Resistance Band Triceps Extension (or Cable)
  • Dips <– hardcore dips or modified bench dips, whatever works for you
  • Reverse Curls (Feel these in your forearms) – I did it holding two 5-lb dumbbells and followed that immediately with some weighted punches and jabs to burn things out
  • Complete 35 minutes of cardio.  I often opt for the stair climber on Mondays.
fun

Tuesday

plank

Wednesday

Be sure to get your legs parallel to the ground, but don’t let your knees pass your toes.

Thursday

  • Run or Walk at Home – Enjoy Summer!  I usually go for about 3 miles.
  • Finish with a cool down, stretches, and yoga.  The yoga should challenge you.

Friday

I’ll most likely do this with an EZ Curl Bar on a bench, but you get the idea.

Saturday

  • Go for a long run, walk, or bike ride.  Enjoy the weather!  I run about 4.5 miles on Saturdays.
  • Finish with a cool down, stretches, and yoga or pilates.  The yoga should challenge you.

I hope you enjoy the workout.  If you give it a shot, let me know what you think of it.

Do you switch up your routine daily, monthly, or other?

How much cardio do you usually do per week?

39 Responses to “July Workout”

  1. If you wanna make your planks more challenging – alternate lifting each leg for 15 seconds, then each arm out in front for 15 seconds for each set..what a workout out!!! I also posted this kick ass move I started doing a couple weeks ago — check it out! http://thehinzadventures.blogspot.com/2011/07/giving-thanks-week-4.html (the move is at the bottom of the post) 🙂 Happy Monday!

  2. Nice routine! I’d be sweatin my butt off haha 🙂

  3. I want that machine! haha I usualy do cardio 3-4 times a week mixed in with strength like high resistance on the elliptical soo I kill two birds with one stone 😉

  4. Nice looking workout plan. I used to love the stair climber when I belonged to a gym a while back. That thing gets you sweating in no time!

  5. That sounds tough! haha. It looks like a great plan though. 🙂 I don’t go to a gym anymore and sometimes I miss parts of it, but I don’t miss the stair climber. It burrrrrns!

  6. My cardio “routine” really varies depending on how I am feeling that week. I always do 45-60 min of lifting 3 days a week, but the cardio is much more variable. This week I am feeling tired and like I need a bit of a break, so I’m thinking I’ll do just a few shorter, HIIT style cardio workouts. Last week, I was all about the long, steady cardio sessions. Mix it up, right?

  7. I love your workout routine!! I can’t wait to get back to working out. It’s difficult to find the time these days but so important!! This is totally giving me inspiration xoxo!!

  8. Great workout! I used to vary up my routine a lot, but now that I’m following the NROLFW plan, I don’t do it as much anymore. And I’ve also been lifting more and doing a lot less cardio… maybe 2 hours a week. IT was kinda hard at first, but I’m getting a lot better results with less cardio. Who woulda thunk…

  9. I’m so bad – I literally never switch up my routine! I workout more because I love it than for results though so I guess that’s why! I try to do cardio at least 3 times a week but with all the walking I do it’s often more!

  10. I do most of the moves too…all great. I’m definitely in a plank streak. I do cardi about 3-4x’s per week and weights only once really.

    I’m bad about switching up my workouts…I get in such a routine and it’s hard to motivate myself to switch!

  11. Sounds like a great workout! 🙂 Mine are constantly changing without me having to really think about it as I always train with a coach. Its normally high intensity circuits then pad work then bag work and then fighting etc. I don’t really do too much else when doing this 3 or 4 times a week. At the moment though I’m running 5 days and doing a little floor work alongside my runs. I could really doing with upping tempo a bit again actually!

  12. I’m trying really hard to switch it up, add some resistance into the mix….. I feel it beefin me up! Ha!

  13. I try to switch up my routine, I like to keep it fun!

    I am actually going to start doing more yoga , so I am excited about that ; )

  14. Awesome routine! I like to switch mine up all the time. I don’t really have a set one that I constantly use, so I just think about what I’m going to do before I get to the gym :).

  15. I like to switch up my routine… but its hard for me to find one at home! Right now I have to make my own workout and I definitely don’t feel like I’ve been kicking my butt!

  16. I try to mix up my routine, but I don’t do it as much as I should. When I was away from home this past two weeks, I was forced to switch it up and it felt so great! Your body really does grow accustomed to doing the same workouts over and over and stops responding, so changing it up is important.
    I love using the exercise ball for added support during strength training. It helps so much with form and provides great stability.

  17. Thanks for posting some workout ideas!

    I teach so often that my workouts vary day to day…which is nice! I don’t have a set schedule and I’m not a fan of one..I like to go with the flow 🙂

  18. Looks like a great workout! I usually do similar cardio for a few months, but my weight routines change alot.

  19. Do you usually do the strength training before cardio? I don’t know why but I’ve always thought cardio comes first then you work the muscles, but hey I’m no expert 🙂
    I’m really bad at switching up my routines! I should do it more often.

    • I prefer strength first, but I often do cardio first to save time. It doesn’t matter which comes first so long as you get in a sufficient warmup. Some prefer strength so they can burn out their muscles before cardio tires them out, but I guess it’s all preferences. 🙂

  20. The only way I can do the Stairmaster is if I have one with a TV 🙂

  21. You are so cute! I love the videos..it always helps seeing the workouts actually being done opposed to reading a description alone. i have to switch up my workouts here and there, if not I get bored and will be less likely to get the workout done!

  22. Love this Tiff! Nice plan!

  23. Wow, what a post! Awesome. I do cardio between 4&5 x’s a week. I do the deathmill -er I mean starimill too. I looove weights though. I lift weights 5 or 6 x’s a week.. I usually do something a little different each time. I switch between heavier weights & lower reps and lower weights higher reps about every 6 or 7 weeks.

  24. I would say I switch up my routine very regularly! I don’t like to ever do the same weights workout twice…there are just so many good exercises out there 🙂

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

