What I Ate Tuesday & Wednesday

It’s WIAW time again!  Yay!  These are pics of what I ate yesterday, but I’m eating the exact same thing today (except one or two very minor changes), so you get the idea.

My first breakfast was a hard boiled egg.  So nutritious, yet so yummy!  Second breakfast was fruit, nonfat Greek yogurt, and Love Grown Foods Granola.  Tuesday I had blueberries, and today I’ll be having mango.  This was my first time buying a mango; I didn’t realize how friggin awesome it is!

parfait

Parfait = Morning Bowl of Goodness

Lunch is simple yet awesome.  It’s just a turkey sandwich, and though it lacks sufficient turkey, it still hits the spot.  It’s Applegate Farms roast turkey, grain mustard, lettuce, and delicious whole wheat bread.  I packed it with a juicy pear.

sammich

A Lovely Pear (Pun Intended)

I normally don’t buy much deli meat since it’s often bad for the environment, over-processed, full of sodium, and blah blah blah.  However, when you want a sandwich, you want a sandwich.

sammich

Simple and Satisfying

Snack is another simple yet awesome concoction.  Veggies and organic hummus make a mean snack.  Tuesday I had carrots, but I will have celery today.  I’m sorry celery, but carrots kick you butt.

scale

I measure carrots for fun. Dork.

I made up a new recipe tonight for dinner.  It was really good, if you’re into odd foods.  I was inspired by Thai Kitchen’s spicy red curry and all the junk in my fridge.  Sadly, the curry wasn’t so spicy, but luckily, it was still delish.

bowl of noms

Curry in a Semi-Hurry

Two chicken breasts, one can of beans, red quinoa, a large zucchini, carrots, a little leftover tomato, celery, some red bell pepper, and a jalapeno all came together to make this dish.  As you may know, I love chicken packets and leftovers, so I’m happy this will feed Kev and I for two nights.  Sweeeeeet.

kev bowl

I stole a pic of Kev's man-bowl.

I had a jalapeno corn muffin after dinner Tuesday (recipe to come), but I bet I’ll have some ice cream Wednesday.  Yup, I an evening muncher.  I don’t recommend or advise it, but I’m not ashamed!

As always, thanks for reading, and be sure to hop over to Peas and Crayons to check out other great eats and meal ideas!

What was the best thing you ate today?

43 Responses to “What I Ate Tuesday & Wednesday”

  1. I LOVE a good old turkey sandwich + pear lunch. You can’t go wrong with it!! And I love, love, love baby carrots. They’re the best food to munch on!

  2. I’m an after dinner muncher too. I just need one more thing to tell me that my day is done of eating!

  3. Oooh that pear looks really yummy with your sandwich! Best thing I ate today was an ice cold protein smoothie loaded with raspberries 🙂

  4. Mango is amazing for sure. I’ve been replacing the frozen banana in my smoothies with frozen mango lately, and I’m loving it. And I’m an evening snacker too – it helps me sleep through the night.

  5. Turkey sandwiches are a necessity sometimes…..they just taste good. And don’t worry being a night time snacker isn’t a bad thing at all. It doesn’t matter what time of the day you eat….your body processes and digests the food the exact same way.

  6. Ooo, I haven’t had mango in so long! You’ve inspired me to go buy one. 🙂

  7. I had a wicked sandwich craving last week and ended up buying some deli meat too. Ham sandwich with veggies and mustard- hit the spot…and I don’t even like ham that much!

    • I used to love ham, but I think I got burnt out on it as a kid. Now I stick to turkey most of the time. I save roast beef for special sandwiches only. 🙂

  8. Love this roundup! I just started eating carrots and hummus and I heart it. The best thing I ate over the last couple of days include fresh pineapple and roasted chicken with couscous that the husband cooked up (always better when someone else makes dinner for you! 🙂 )

  9. Best thing I ate was french fries….yup I stopped and got the terrible fried ones. They were SO good!

  10. hahaha I have a food scale too, because sometimes I’m just curious like, how much squash am I eating? Stuff like that! My roommates ALWAYS make fun of me!!! haha

    • Sometimes I use it to prove how wrong packaged foods are. They save there are 8 servings of hummus. Funny – my food scale and I say there are only 7. Jerks. haha

  11. I haven’t had anything to eat yet today, but I’m pretty stoked about dipping my jalapeno sunchips in my cottage cheese later today 😉

  12. Greek yogurt is so fabulous. I love that it is so thick and high in protein. The best thing I’ve had lately is the wine in a box from Trader Joe’s. Perfect for bringing with you on vacation 🙂

  13. Is it just me or does it look like your pear is eating the turkey sandwich? LOL!

    Best thing I’ve had today so far is a chilled peach soup.

  14. “I was inspired by red curry and all the junk in my fridge”… best line ever.

  15. I’m on repeat from yesterday, too 🙂 And I love dishes like your curry where you can just add whatever needs to be used up. Looks pretty darn tasty!

  16. Love mango! And curry! After dinner munching is totally okay 🙂

  17. Dropping in sto say Hello!
    And also that carrots>celery.
    Yes mam.

  18. I adore mango! Soooooo good right now. And I’m currently loving on sandwiches too. I agree that sometimes you just want a deli meat sandwich!

  19. Can’t wait for that recipe! I eat all the time after dinner..I just get too hungry :). And carrots are totally better than celery!

  20. I agree. Sometimes you just want a sandwich =) I have been craving a BLT like there is no tomorrow. I dont know if i’m ready for the lifestyle change eating bacon would bring so i’m going to try some maple tempeh bacon first.. see how it works… and then take it from there. I forsee pouting in my future =) curry in a hurry? yes PLEASE! =) Happy WIAW love!

  21. Oh my goodness girlie! Mango is awesome! You should try frozen mango – it makes smoothies so creamy. And Trader Joe’s makes the best dried mango – no sugar added, just dried mango. It’s so unbelievably good!

  22. oh I love Love Grown Granola! So fresh and yummy!

    My lunch today of a BLT, plus basil, onion and avocado pretty much rocked my world 🙂

  23. Yum! I think the best thing I had so far today was my “healthy” buffalo chicken salad….so glad i get to eat it tomorrow for lunch too 🙂

  24. Best thing I ate today? So far it’s been my morning cereal…It is always delicious! 🙂

  25. Oh it all looks good but that cornbread sounds awesome!!

  26. I love food scales! So handy dandy. 🙂 Happy wiaw!

    Whitney

  27. That granola is the best!! Pretty jealous of your food scale. I really want to get one for baking purposes!

  28. I have an obseesion with raw carrots lately. They make the perfect snack!

  29. Looks like a great day of meals! First time to your blog, and I really like all the different aspects you cover, especially the food! Thanks for commenting on my blog. I’ve added yours to my Google Reader and look forward to reading your future posts!

  30. Gasp! Your first mango! Your life will be forever changed from this moment on. It’s kind of like falling in love…once you’ve eaten a mango, you won’t understand how you ever lived without it.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

