Clearly Fresh Bags: It’s in the bag, baby!

Good Morning!  I have a confession to make; I have not worked out since Friday.  I know; it’s crazy.  My acne medicine was really messing up my heart.  After a minor heart-rate freak-out this weekend, I finally decided to quit taking the stuff.  Between that issue, some minor injuries, and a lingering workout funk,  I think few days off is for the best.

I still didn’t let myself sleep in today.  I got up at 5 a.m., cleaned my kitchen, and did 45 minutes of challenging yoga.  Yogis may not think it’s too hard, but I’m as flexible as an oak tree.  I have to just take a breather in pigeon pose during the balance part.  The workout is free and can be found at Exercise TV; it’s called Yoga Fitness Fusion.

I have some good news to share.  Last week, I received these Clearly Fresh Bags.  The company kindly sent me a few to review, and I’m pretty pumped about it. 

 clearly fresh

I’m not trying to toot my own horn here, but they couldn’t have picked a better guinea pig.  I go to the store once per week, and I don’t have time to make second trips.  I am also a fan of fresh produce.  Sometimes things aren’t so fresh by the time I need to hit up the store again, so I have high hopes for these.

 bag this

They look like the big ole’ freezer bags my mommy used to use for shakin’ and bakin’ our pork chops (not that she baked in the bag, but you get the idea).

 zucchini

So easy, even a CaveTiff can do it!

 cavetiff

I have the hardest time with bananas, so I’m especially eager to see how they turn out.  Even the packaging shows bananas, so I can’t wait to revisit this over the weekend.  Maybe I’ll keep it going until next week. 

 banananananana

Okay… sadly, it’s time to get to work.  At least it’s a short week; thank goodness for holiday weekends!

Have you ever used any brand of fresh bags?  Do you have any fresh produce secrets?

***EDIT (10:36 a.m.): I forgot to mention I’m a featured blogger today over at Fitblogger.  Check it out!

27 Responses to “Clearly Fresh Bags: It’s in the bag, baby!”

  1. I’m interested in seeing if those bags work!

    I have no good secrets about produce…I just try and eat it as soon as possible haha!

  2. I seriously need to invest in some of these! I always mean to pick them up but then I forget. You’ve totally reminded me so thanks! 🙂

  3. Yikes! I’m glad you took some rest since you weren’t feeling too good! I’ve never tried those bags, and I don’t really have any secrets… I just make a few trips to the store during the week lol.

  4. Oooo I have never seen those bags! I definitely want to know if they work! I just usually make a couple trips to the store

  5. Those look really cool! It’s lame when produce goes bad in like 3-4 days. I usually shop twice a week, at least most of the time.

  6. I’m a “go-once-a-week” person myself. I’ll be interested to see how this experiment goes. Best thing I ate this weekend: BBQ ribs with fresh corn on the cob!

  7. Can’t wait to see if the bags work! I am constantly throwing out produce that goes bad before I can eat it!

    • I’m not sure what upsets me more, the fact that spoilage wastes my money or causes me to re-think my meals for the rest of the week!

  8. I’m very interested in the banana experiment, keep us posted!

  9. Keep us posted on how the bags work — It drives me nuts when my produce goes bad :-/

    And dangit, I wish I would have won that giveaway ;-P

  10. Way to get up early and get things done! That yoga workout sounds like a good one. I’m similarly inflexible, would probably be a good idea to add some workouts like that. And looking forward to seeing how the bags work. I’m all classy and just leave everything out on the counter, and then freeze it if it begins to look suspicious…

  11. I need something like that. As a single gal, it’s so hard for me to plan out and try to use everything before it goes bad!

  12. I get so much done when I get up early too!! Love those bags!!

  13. I can’t wait to hear what you think of those bags. I usually only do a big grocery shop once a week as well, so my produce starts to look not so great towards the end of the week.

  14. Those bags look like the type of plastic they put fresh broccoli slaw or greens in- the breathability keeps it fresher I guess. Can’t wait to see how they work!

  15. If it keeps bananas yellow for longer than 2 days, I’m sold. ha Where do you find these things!?!

  16. oooh – I’ve never used anything like that but am intrigued! In the summer, some of my produce gets ripe super fast, like bananas and peaches. it drives me nuts. One tip i have for making avocados last longer – leave the pit in if you only use half and it helps keep the other half good until you use it again.

  17. I cannot wait to see if these bags work! I have had a serious problem with produce going bad way too quickly!

  18. I cant wait to see how the bags work! I’ve always been tempted to buy that infomercial!! That and the foodsaver

  19. Those bags sound like a great idea!

    The one thing I just learned is to keep fruits away from veggies! That fruits omit a gas when ripening that can speed up veggies going bad. Now I keep everything separately.

  20. I’m anxious to hear how you like the bags! I’ve heard of them, but haven’t tried them. We buy the containers of organic lettuce and spinach. One tip someone told me was to always put a damp paper towel inside the opened bag or container (of lettuce or spinach) before putting it back into the fridge. It keeps it fresher longer. Not sure how it works, but it does!! The same thing with cartons of ice cream – it prevents that yucky freezer burn on the top!

  21. I’m excited to hear how it goes! my stuff always goes bad 😦

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

