Happy 4th of July!

Happy Independence Day!  Like many Americans, I will be attending a barbeque later this afternoon.  I won’t be enjoying any beers, but I did get these really awesome hot dogs to grill.  They are organic, uncured beef dogs made by Applegate Farms.  We had some last night, and I’m excited to enjoy them again later today.

dogs

Sooooo Yum

I know the 4th of July is not traditionally a gift-giving holiday, but it’s time to announce the winner for my Food Should Taste Good giveaway.  Are you as excited as I am?!?  I hope so.

chip

Chip Winner

The random number generator chose Heather at Where’s The Beach.  Congrats Heather!  Shoot me an email with your address and top five flavor choices, and Food Should Taste Good will send goodies your way.  The flavor choices are found on my initial giveaway post.

Now that I’ve had more time to try the other flavors, I want to finish reviewing them.  I already reviewed white cheddar and jalapeno.  The cheddar is great and requires no dip.  The jalapeno is hot but manageable – and delicious.

Kev and I brought the bag of sweet potato chips with us to the beach, and we devoured the entire bag in the car.  They are a wee bit salty and a wee bit sweet.  These chips are not busting with flavor, but they’re still really good.  I think they’d be good PMS food, but naturally, Kevin has no comment.

sweet p

They're shaped like lil' sweet potatoes!

I like the multigrain chips, but they need a dip or topping.  They were pretty darn good with cheese and salsa, as you can see from today’s lunch.  I also think olive or artichoke tapenade would be great.  I wish the flax were ground instead of whole since our bodies don’t digest it whole, but I still appreciate the high-quality ingredients.

Diggin the Plain Grain

Diggin the Plain Grain

Nachos!

Nachos!

I was not as crazy about the works.  They are like an everything bagel, sort of.  The main flavor is onion, which is kind of nice, but it’s just not my thing.  If you like onion bagels, you’d love these things.  You also taste caraway seed, but a little something extra, like sun-dried tomato, would make them more enjoyable.

And now, to wrap up the post, I leave you with a few pics from my weekend.  Have a great holiday!

morning

Morning Coffee n' Bagel

market

Leave it to me to find the farmer's market...

beach

Beach!!!

17 Comments to “Happy 4th of July!”

  1. Mmm those nachos look GOOD

    Happy 4th!

  2. I love everything/onion bagels and I love those chips to! They are so flavorful!

    Have fun at the beach Tiff!

  3. I’m not a hotdog person and those still look good! But no beer?? I’m picking some up as soon as I get off work (yeah, work on the fourth 😦 ), because beer happens to be a great way to celebrate America 😀

  4. Happy 4th!! I’ll hopefully be enjoying some delicious dogs too!

  5. Yummy shish-kabobs! 😛 Hope you’re having a great 4th!

  6. Happy 4th to you! You just made my day 😉

  7. Hey girl – I need to get your email address…

  8. Happy 4th! I’m interested in trying those hot dogs. I don’t normally eat hot dogs but every once in awhile (like maybe once or twice a year, ha!) I get a craving!

  9. Since you made nachos, I have to tell my fav joke.

    Q: What do you call cheese that isn’t yours?

    A: Not-yo-cheese!

    😉

  10. No matter where I travel, I can always find a farmer’s market 🙂

  11. Happy 4th!!!! Hope you had a fantastic weekend!

  12. Hope you had a fab weekend! Finding a farmers market! Winner! 🙂

  13. I never craved hotdogs until pregnancy- weird, right? I love the new Oscar Mayer nitrate free ones!

  14. Oh man! Why didn’t I think to make nachos with my chips!

Leave a Reply

