Beach, Beer, and Bikini

Today started out with a good workout and another parfait.  Those two things help make for a good morning.  Then again, how could a Friday not start off well?  Actually, don’t answer that; we’re focusing on positives here.

One positive is that it’s going to be a long weekend, thanks to Independence Day.  My office lets out a few hours early the day before long weekends, so that’s another positive.  A third positive is that I’m going to the beach this weekend.

beach

Beach Flashback Pics

I’m pretty excited for the three B’s: beach, beer, and bikini.

Speaking of beer, I’d like to do a quick brew review for you.  This is one of Kevin’s favorite beers, and I’m a big fan myself.  I got to enjoy it last weekend, and in doing so, I took both notes and pictures.  I’m such a good blogger.

Smuttynose IPA

First and foremost, this is an awesome label for a bottle.  Okay, now let’s get down to business.

beer

Appearance

It’s a light color for an IPA, and it has a nice golden tint.  As you can see, this is an unfiltered beer.  That’s one of the reasons why Kev and I love it.  After a bottle pour, you can see a very thin head.  It’s a nice lingering lace, but nothing much.

beer

Smell

I didn’t take many notes on the smell, probably because it was not all that aromatic.  I guess that’s better than smelling funky though, right?

Taste

This beer tastes of citrus, and it’s so refreshing!  By IPA standards, it’s not that bitter, but it has a little bite.  There’s also that hoppy flavor I love, as well as a hint of pine.  It’s not a light beer, clocking in a 6.9% ABV, but the alcohol content is not overpowering.  Thank goodness!

Mouthfeel

Despite the cloudiness, there is not a thick feel to this.  You you notice the smooth richness, not a heavy thickness.  It is moderate in carbonation.

Overall

Overall, I like it.  I know I already said that, but now it’s official.  It’s hard to switch from this to another IPA since this one is quite unique.  If you order one, stop there or stick with it!  This brew earned an A- from the Beer Advocate Community but an A+ from “The Bros” at Beer Advocate.

beer3

Here’s a link from the Women of Craft Beer.  The ladies give 3 suggestions for Independence Day brews to enjoy during your festivities.

I have a cookout to attend at the neighbor’s house on Monday when I return from the beach.  I don’t think I’ll have any beer, but maybe I’ll bring some of my Food Should Taste Good chips to share.  I’d like to share some with you too, so enter my giveaway!

What are your plans for the weekend?  Will you be firing up the grill?

29 Comments to “Beach, Beer, and Bikini”

  1. I’m headed up to my sister’s to spend time with my nieces and I’m SUPER excited! We will most definitely be firing up the grill – can’t wait! Enjoy your weekend (and the beach!)

  2. Hope you have an awesome time at the beach!! 🙂 We’re having a family cookout for the 4th this weekend and just relaxing–I can’t wait to fire up the grill!

  3. Looks like you’re gonna have an awesome weekend!!! Enjoy!

  4. Love the beach pics- I want to be on a beach! I’ll be doing some early b-day celebrations, a couple of family cookouts, and seeing my bf 🙂

  5. that’s one of my all-time fav beer labels 🙂

  6. Jealous of the beach time! We’ll be enjoying the pool with friends tomorrow at least. Hope you have a great time!

  7. It’s Canada Day for us up here in the Great White north, so this weekend should be full of some good BBQ’s. I’d love to be on the beach though…

  8. Enjoy the beach! We’re heading to the lake again, second best after the beach 😉

  9. Great review Tiff! I do love the Finestkind IPA. Great great stuff! I need to keep a tally of how many times I’ve said that about this beer. I think I’m repeating myself. 🙂

    Happy 4th of July weekend!

    Cheers!
    G-LO

  10. Have a great time at the beach!! I am heading to Miami this weekend. No beach plans but you better believe I’ll be sitting poolside, cocktail in hand!

  11. Is anything better than beers and the beach? Hope you have a great weekend!

  12. I have the 3 B’s this weekend too: Bikini, Beach, and Bestie — we’re meeting in Lake Tahoe tonight!

  13. The beach! I’m jealous–sounds like a good weekend plan. Mine revolve around general relaxing, but nothing specific. And that bottle label is indeed awesome (the name’s pretty good too).

  14. I so wish I was at the beach right now….ugh. But I’m at my parent’s house and they have a pool at least so that’s the next best thing. 🙂 We will probably be hitting up the local July 4th parade and do some grilling – nothing too exciting, but still fun!

  15. Hi Tiff~~ Love the 3 B’s too!! Add to that BBQ and baseball and I’m one happy girl! Have a great weekend!!

  16. Looking fab in those pics girly! Have a fabulous time with your 3 B’s! 🙂

  17. Have fun and soak up some sunshine for me, God knows I need it 😉

  18. You look and looked awesome if you swimsuit so have fun in the sun this weekend! That beer looks great- I bet my hubby would love it

  19. Sounds like fun!!! We are bbq-ing a few times, hanging with family and friends, and relaxing. Oh and the good ole fireworks show.

    Enjoy!

  20. I’m too scared to grill, but I will convince my dad to grill hopefully!

  21. I’m a big fan of Smuttynose as well 🙂

  22. Smuttynose is a great beer! I recently tried a Founders Red – have you had it? Really tasty beer.

    Have a great rest of the weekend with the “B”s!

  23. you look lovely! i’m excited for the week-end, will be bbq’ing for sure 😉 happy 4th to you!
    xo ~ kristina

Leave a Reply

