What I Ate Wednesday

It’s WIAW time!  Blog parties are fun, and if you agree, hop over to Jenn’s site to check out other WIAW entries.

If you all read Monday’s post, you’ll know I’ve boarded the healthy train this week.  Yup, the train is right on track.  I’ve been working out despite my inexplicable lethargy, and I’ve been eating relatively well.

gun show

Welcome to the Gun Show

Breakfast consists of my regular three-part breakfasts.  I have a pre-gym brown rice cake and a post-gym hardboiled egg.  I’ve really taken a liking to these eggs!  Sometimes, if I wake up hungry, I throw a little peeb (peanut butter) on the rice cake.  It hits the spot.  Once I arrive at work, I have a parfait full of plain, nonfat Greek yogurt, homemade granola (not very sweet or tasty, but filling), and ½ cup of berries.

parfait

The snozberries taste like snozberries!

Lunch is another veggie bowl.  Woohoo!  I’ll be posting the recipe tomorrow, so stay tuned.  Hint, it involves red quinoa that I ordered from Amazon… and veggies… duh.

I pair the veggie bowl with five almonds.  Why?  I sometimes feel like munching, and that’s just enough to satisfy my greedy taste buds.

Snack includes veggies (carrots or celery, usually) with one 90-calorie serving of 2% Daisy cottage cheese.  I love that stuff, but I don’t understand how something so seemingly natural has such a long shelf life.  Maybe I shouldn’t question a good thing – just roll with it Tiff…

snack

Recycled Pic - I brought more carrots, but same idea...

Dinner is the same for three nights this week.  I’m having half a humongous chicken breast with barely boiled asparagus (0.3 lbs of it to be exact), and a leftover slice of eggplant.  I just learned the eggplant is great on the countertop grill – no oil needed!

dinner

Plain Jane Kind of Meal – No Offense Jane

Oh, and I also had popcorn after dinner Monday and a couple servings of ice cream (light organic strawberry) after dinner Tuesday.

Kevin’s dinner three nights this week has been a little more interesting, so I’ll post it too.  I made him a tuna-noodle casserole with peas and celery.  The store did not have any natural or whole-wheat egg noodles (grocery store = fail), so he got the regular kind.  Luckily, I’m the only one who actually enjoys wheat pasta/bread/etc.

dinner kev

30% is missing - I was too late for a good pic

Instead of two cans of condensed cream of celery soup, I made the creamy sauce for the casserole with cashews, unsweetened almond milk, and a few herbs.  This was my first cashew sauce experiment, and it was a winner!  The sauce was sort of bland, and it dried out a wee bit in the oven.  However, the dish still tasted good, and the tuna was not overpowered by soup flavor.

Bad Things = cooking two separate meals leads double kitchen clean-up

Good Things = leftovers for both of us for three nights – Wahoooo!

What are your thoughts on leftovers?  Do you make extra so you get leftovers, or do you avoid them when possible?

52 Comments to “What I Ate Wednesday”

  1. I love the WIAW parties! I’m going to be joining you all tonight! Awesome looking WIAW eats too. 🙂

  2. I’m loving the parfait! and I completely agree with you about the cottage cheese. We have some that is good until August…. It just doesn’t seem right!

  3. nice touch with the cashew sauce! gotta try it.

    • I was pleased by how easy it was but let down at the extra cleanup of the food processor. Win some, lose some, but I think it was worth it.

  4. Daaang, look at those guns! :] My goal is to have arms like yours!

    I love grilled eggplant and asparagus.. yum! I always try to make extra food for leftovers. My husband eats so much that he’ll usually finish it all off that night, but sometimes I get lucky and have enough to use for lunch the next day. Haha!

    • Thanks! I was feeling strong, so I figured there’s not shame in taking a sweaty pic in a locker room, right? Or maybe there is…. 🙂

  5. Love leftovers! I usually cook enough so I have leftovers for a good part of the week – so much easier that way!

  6. Lordy that parfait looks SO delicious!! 😀 Haha and I LOL’ed at the snozberries, oh how I miss Willy Wonka 🙂
    BTW, your biceps are rockin girl, keep up the great work!

  7. tuna noodle casserole is total comfort food for me! yum!!

  8. Wow thats some dedication right there cooking two separate meals! What ever works though right!?!? Good for you fo sticking to your plan!

  9. “The snozberries taste like snozberries!” <– Lol I loved that movie. I've gotta watch it again, pronto.

    I like leftovers, because some meals taste better when they've "come to" in the fridge, but since I only cook for myself and tend to get bored of eating the same things, I don't often make enough to have leftovers for the next day.

  10. As you may have read on my blog last week – i LOVE leftovers 🙂 They’re amazing – so quick, easy and minimal cleanup! You really can’t beat that if you ask me!

  11. I love leftovers, saves so much time later in the week! Plus, I’m only cooking for myself, so I don’t exactly feel like cooking a meal every night. And that grilled eggplant may be plain, but it still looks GOOD!

  12. I definitely try to avoid leftovers – unless its chili which is always better a day later!

  13. Hahaha love your sorry Jane comment!
    Your eats look fab as usual – can’t wait to see the veggie bowl 🙂
    I LOVE your three part breakfast, what a great idea!!!

  14. Do you know of a good vet?…. because those pythons are SICK! 😉 hehe but seriously, I’m jealous of those biceps!!

    I love leftovers… but I hardly ever have any left!

  15. I LOVE leftovers! In fact sometimes I double up on ingredients just so I’ll have enought to eat the next few days and freeze. Which is why I make a lot of soup… also I just really love soup.

  16. I LOVE leftovers! When I make a meal, it’s always a minimum of 4 servings. However, my husband has this weird thing and makes it his mission to eat everything the first time around. I have to constantly remind him that I LIKE leftovers and to please leave me some!

  17. I’m down with leftovers — I’ve been eating a lot this week and I swear they actually started to taste even better!

    You can also get red quinoa at Trader Joe’s 😉

  18. I have no issue with leftovers! In fact, I like em because they make my life easier 🙂

  19. yay WIAW, you inspired me to start doing one. 😀

  20. I always make extra to have leftovers – I usually like them more than the fresh made meals:)

  21. I love meals that can last a few days – it gives us a break when it’s too nice outside to be stuck in the kitchen! Happy WIAW!

  22. I have to have something crunchy in my food to like almonds. I don’t know what it is but I feel more satisfied!!

  23. lots of leftovers is def a win! though I hate hate hate doing dishes! its probably the one thing that can simultaneously break my nails, dry out my skin, cause me to drop glass and get it in my foot and just overall make me cranky! lol… but I still do them b/c cooking is totally worth the cleanup! i think? ❤

    Happy WIAW love!!!

  24. you look awesome! i love left-overs actually ~ almost better than non-left-overs!! 😉
    xo ~ kristina
    p.s. your food looks really yummy and healthy!

  25. haha- oh man, i posted about berries and forgot about SNOZBERRIES! the best kind 🙂
    Cheers!
    meri

  26. I JUST ate a Greek yogurt parfait! Seriously delicious. I don’t know where I’d be without leftovers. I always double a recipe on purpose so I can have leftovers for the next day or two. It’s a lifesaver. Glad your first cashew experiment went well!

  27. way to stick to your plan, tiff!
    (granola) – > “…not very sweet or tasty, but filling…” – haha! i love your honesty! hopefully you’re getting near the end of your batch?!
    i do NOT like leftovers. i rarely have them around, thank goodness!

  28. Work it girl! Look at those guns!! And I must say.. even though you claim it isn’t tasty, that granola parfait looks delish !

  29. That berry yogurt parfait looks so freaking good! I love berrie and have a berry smoothie (basically blended greek yogurt and frozen berries) every day. But I should mix it up a little and try a parfait like this one. Lol.

    That tuna casserole looks really yummy! 🙂

  30. I am so jealous of your arm muscles!

  31. Often, I’ll make just enough for two servings- that way, I get another meal out of it and I can’t overeat otherwise I cheat myself out of lunch the next day… 🙂

  32. I love snozzberries 😉

    I like leftovers for a day, then I’m over it. Or my hubby is over it. I’m trying to cook a little smaller with certain things so I can avoid throwing it away.

  33. Great WIAW! I am definitely a leftovers girl, sometimes they taste better the next day 🙂

  34. I am ALL about the leftovers! It’s so easy to pack up for lunch the next day! 🙂

  35. I’m not a fan of cooking seperate dinners, but we do it sometimes. I am a fan of leftovers though. A lot of the times my husband will work nights, so I cook for 4 as normal, and he has the leftovers for lunch the next day. Or, I make something that only I like, and enjoy the leftovers that week. 🙂

  36. Nice guns 😉 I always LOVE leftovers…as I usually make something super healthy for dinner so that I can pack it and have it for lunch the next day. I find that I waste less and spend less!

  37. I love your blog name!!! Your yogurt parfait looks so good 🙂

Leave a Reply

