Savory Summer Muffins

Top o’ the muffin to ya!  When I went out for lunch Saturday, the restaurant had a pretty awesome appetizer called a tomato pie.  The entire table loved them, and although I only tried a bite, I knew I had to remake them… or at least something similar.

The restaurant’s tomato pie looked as if it was made in a popover tin.  It had tomato in the middle of a flaky yet semi-doughy pie crust.  As we all know, a flaky crust comes from one thing- lard, so I knew I’d need to make a healthier edition.

I instead made savory summer muffins, which use whole wheat flour and yellow cornmeal.  I have a bunch of leftover cornmeal from that amazing tamale pie, so I’m happy I found another use for it!

Savory Muffins

Savory Summer Muffins ~ Makes 4 Muffins

FILLING

  • 2 tsp butter or butter substitute
  • 1/4 cup thinly sliced onion 1/2 medium tomato (thinly diced)

DRY

  • 1/3 cup corn meal
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour (approx 1 TBS reserved)
  • 1/8 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme (or a little more if you like this stuff)

WET

  • 1 egg and one egg white (reserve the extra yolk) ~ I don’t think a flax egg would work well, but I have no idea.
  • 1/4 cup  milk (I used unsweetened almond milk)
  • 1 tsp honey (probably unnecessary)

TOPPING

  • 1 egg yolk (leftover)
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/8 – 1/4 cup shredded cheese (I used about 1/8 of shaved parmesan)

tomato muffin

Directions

  1. See toppings.  Melt butter in a pan, and when melted, cook onion until soft.  Turn off burner, and add tomato pieces.  Let cool in the warm pan.
  2. Whisk dry ingredients in a bowl.  Whisk wet ingredients separately in another bowl. Stir to combine wet and dry ingredients, but do not over-stir.
  3. Place a dallop of dough mixture into the bottom of four greased places in a muffin tin. Try to make the dough come up the sides a bit to make a dip in the middle.  The dough doesn’t want to do this, so don’t force it.  Sprinkle most of your reserved flour in the middle of your muffin.
  4. Plop equal amounts of tomato and onion mix in each muffin, without extra juices from pan.  Sprinkle your remaining wee bit of flour on filling.  Top muffins with remaining dough mixture.  Whisk topping, and drizzle over each muffin. Bake at 350 degrees  F for approximately 19-22 minutes.
yum

In other news, I enjoyed roast Brussels sprouts and eggplant Sunday night with a glass of cheap simple red wine and little chunk of Parmesan cheese.  Roast Brussels are nature’s candy!  Kevin’s plate also included a large grilled chicken breast.

Last night, I changed it up a bit.  I’m not going to share that dinner just yet since I’ll be eating the same thing tomorrow.  Yup, tomorrow you are in store for another WIAW.  Sooner or later I need to do a What I Drank Weekend Edition, but I’ll hold onto that thought.

If you try my muffin recipe, let me know what you think of it in the comments.  I’m eager to know!  Oh, and if you make your rendition of it, let me know that too.  This was my first attempt at savory muffins (or any baking recipe I made up myself), so I’m sure some tweaking is in order.

Have you made a savory treat that’s usually sweet?  Or how about the other way around?

28 Comments to “Savory Summer Muffins”

  1. Cheap/inexpensive red wine is sometimes the best. 🙂 I try not to spend more than $5 on wine at Trader Joe’s. One bottle doesn’t go very far!!

  2. Oh my goodness.. loving the brussels sprouts & eggplant! It looks delicious.

    I definitely want to try those muffins. They’d be perfect for breakfast.

  3. Yum, love savory muffins b/c then I have an excuse to eat muffins all day long!

  4. Those muffins look fantastic. I’ll definitely be trying them.
    As for roasted brussel sprouts, I could honestly eat them for every meal. so. tasty.

  5. Amen for cheap wine! [Or “on sale” wine that is normally expensive. And by expensive, I mean anything over $10.]

    These remind me of some “pizza muffins” I made in college that my roommates refused to try because they couldn’t get over the savory in what–to them–should have been sweet. Perhaps I’ll give your recipe a try…and add pepperoni? 🙂

  6. I love the idea of a savory muffin! I don’t think I’ve ever made anything like that…but I LOVE the savory/sweet combo!

  7. These look awesome! I love making savory baked goods !

  8. Those muffins sound excellent, I love savory muffins. I will be tackling this recipe in the near future. I might also have to accompany them with some “simple” wine–I love that designation 😀 And roast brussel sprouts are probably one of my all-time favorite veggie dishes.

  9. I’m such a carb person so I know I would LOVE this recipe! looks great!

  10. I’d give these a go, minus the egg yolk on top since I’m not a fan of anything too eggy. These are like the parmesan thyme rolls I made around Thanksgiving that were soooo good!

  11. when I think muffins, I always thing sweet! But those look really good! I’m a sweets kind of gal though, so I mostly stick to making sweet stuff 🙂

  12. Savory muffins + brussels in one day = heaven (seriously!)

    I usually like my sweet, sweet, and my savory, savory– but sometimes mixing it up can be a mouthful of amazing!

  13. Those look really great. I love your dinner plate too, or more appropriately what’s on it. Grilled eggplant is my favorite in the summer. I’m a Brussels sprouts fan too.

  14. These look so delicious! I love the idea of savory muffins 🙂 I don’t often make sweet food savory- usually the other way around. I have a crazy sweet tooth!

  15. Haha ‘what I drank weekend edition’ I will definitely link up with you on that one! Maybe it will be easier to do a ‘what I didn’t drink’ though?! 😀 And I haven’t eaten brussels since I threw them up once as a child because I hated them so much… I really want to like them now as I know they’re so good for me AND they look great roasted!

  16. I usually don’t mix sweet and savory but seeing these muffins definitely makes me want to start!

  17. 3 buck Chuck cheap red wine? That’s what I prefer!! 🙂

    And these savory muffins look so good!!

  18. I love roasted brussel sprouts. They are soo delicious!
    Nothing wrong with a bottle of cheap wine!! 🙂

  19. I love making breakfast muffins with eggs and bread and peppers!!!
    YAY for cheap wine, seriously tastes the best sometimes 🙂

  20. Roasted brussel sprouts are amazing. One of my favorite veggies and so easy to make. I am also a fan of “simple” wine, too. The Husband doesn’t drink wine, so I can’t justify high price tags when I am drinking on my own.

Leave a Reply

