Ding Ding Ding Da-Da Ding Ding

Ding Ding Ding DaDa Ding Ding… Under Pressure… Ding Ding Ding DaDa Ding Ding – Sorry, I was channeling David Bowie this morning.  This post is about being under pressure.  No, nothing big is really weighing me down, and no monkeys are riding around on my back.  However, there are a few of life’s pressures worth mentioning (three to be exact).

1 – Do you ever put pressure on yourself to push yourself to the limit, even when it may not be the best idea?  My three-mile Thursday run today got me thinking again.  I have been pressuring myself lately to do a half marathon.  I want to do it.  I do.  But that’s a lot of running.  I know the cons outweigh the pros on this one.  I don’t think my knees or my patience could handle all that training.  Training would also lead to weight gain since I’d be eating to fuel my running.  So why am I even considering this?  Pride issues?  Probably – but I still want to do it.

2 – Do you feel pressure to be more polite than confident?  I do, and I think I’m not the only one.  In a way, that’s a good thing – otherwise we’d all be a bunch of jerks.  However, try and tell me you haven’t’ done or at least heard this before…

  • You look great in that dress!
  • Thanks.  I hate the way it tightens around my ____ (insert perceived flaw here).

 The other day I told Kevin that he has great dimples.  You know what he said?  “Yeah.”  Imagine that coupled with a sly, dimple-showing smirk.  I had to laugh.  That was a good response, but I’m not used to hearing responses like that.  I usually compliment my girl friends, but the feedback is generally negative.  How is he so confident?  More importantly, how can we all be more like that???

curlers

I’m confident enough to leavethe gym like this…

3 – Do pretty pictures in store flyers pressure you into buying things you don’t need?  Nope, this pressure is definitely not weighing me down, but I’m still totally serious.  I saw party supplies on sale in my local Target flyer.  I want to have a party.  My parties are usually epic fails, but Kevin’s good at throwing parties.  Why do you think I was attracted to him in college?!?!  Just kidding!  We got a kegerator back in January or February, and we’ve only had one party and one keg with it.  Instead of getting beer for a party, I think we need a party to justify getting beer!

empty

Yup... Just Checking... Still Outta' Beer

On a side note, I had a nice workout yesterday.  I did 30 minutes on the arc trainer (not my fav) and an arm workout.  Today I completed a 3.27-mile run and some abdominal work.

Have a great Thursday!  It’s my Friday – no work for me tomorrow.  Woohoo!  Don’t worry, I’ll still get up early and hit the gym, but you already figured that, didn’t you?

37 Comments to “Ding Ding Ding Da-Da Ding Ding”

  1. I can definitely relate to #2 – that is totally me! You’ve got to figure out his secret and let me know 🙂 Happy Thursday (or Friday as it may be for you ~ lucky!)

  2. I definitely think you should go with the party idea. Since you’re off tomorrow, after you workout, make up some cute flyers, stuff them in friends mailboxes, and head to the store. You know…the keg store! I’m a terrible influence, but I miss the kegerator!

  3. Haha! Queen actually sings that song! LOL! I love Queen so thats the only reason I know that 🙂

    This post is great and I can totally relate to feeling pressure in all sorts of forms!

    • Bowie sings some of the vocals, but you’re right. I think it is officially on the Queen album/cd/single/whatever. And I agree, Queen is such a classic!

  4. Oh yes, I feel lots of pressure and it’s mostly of my own doing. I’m going through the half marathon wavering issue right now too. And isn’t it great how men can just accept a compliment without any sort of “but” in there?

  5. haha that is so a response my fiance would say too. I’m like ooo you look good today. He’s like “I always look good.” He’s a big jokester but for the most part that’s his response. He’s a confident guy. He tells me I look good and I’m like really?!? I don’t know about this shirt/hair/some other part of myself. So I totally feel you on that one. I need to learn to just say what he does!

  6. #2 is actually something I’m working to overcome. I’m tired of feeling like I can’t be confident and rock what I’ve got. I don’t want to come off as cocky or full of myself, but there’s nothing wrong with being confident, as long as you aren’t a jerk about it.

  7. enjoy your “friday,” tiff! long weekends in the summer are the best.
    re situation #1: i think a lot of pressure is put on runners to constantly run longer distances, whether it’s self-imposed pressure, or from running friends, from blog race reports, from sites like runner’s world…that’s the impression i get from runners at the store, too. seems like shorter distances are the best for you, right now! nothing wrong with that at all!

  8. I can definitely relate to #2 and probably #3 as well! 😉 I would have to say that the majority of the pressure I feel is from myself! Mehh something to work on! 🙂 Enjoy your day off!

  9. I have a hard time accepting compliments on my appearance, but can usually take them when it comes to my work or achievements…

  10. I hate when people dismiss compliments so I always try to resist the urge to respond negatively and instead just say “thanks” 🙂 It’s way more attractive.

  11. LOLOL you are highlarious in the picture where your hair is all up!!!! btw i awarded you in my post about operation beautiful, check it out to see what it’s all about!

  12. I love this, especially #2. I think we’re all guilty of that. Come to think of it, is it really being polite to deny a compliment? Sometimes I almost feel rude doing it, although it’s like a reflex anymore. I’m really going to try to be better at accepting compliments too!

    I like the party idea. Lots of work, but they’re always fun! 🙂

  13. I wish girls were more like guys when they get compliments!

  14. I am struggling with the same marathon issue! I don’t know if my knees/hips can take it.. but I want to do it to say I accomplished a marathon! Ugh.

  15. I experienced #1 just this week! I tried to push harder with my overhead press, but I lifted too heavy and strained my delt…owwie. You should definitely have a partay girl, heck it’s almost the weekend wooo!! 😀

  16. Love this post. Everyone should take compliments like that! I hate when I tell someone they look nice and they respond with negativity–I feel like I’ve made them feel WORSE rather than better, and then am not as eager to give a compliment in the future–and the world needs compliments!

    And wanting beer is a great reason for a party 😀

  17. I definitely find myself buying things I don’t need!! it’s a huge problem!!

  18. Haha, Kevin has the right idea! Why AREN’T girls more like that? I wonder what their secret is…

  19. Yay! No work for me tomorrow either – I’m so excited 🙂

    And haha – I ALWAYS think that about my boyfriend (or guys in general) – why can’t we all be more like that – just completely self-assured and confident!

  20. No work for you?!?! Well, you are going to have a super Friday. I hope you have something nice planned! 🙂

  21. Yep, I definitely #2. I know I’m going to fall into it, yet somehow it still happens. When will I ever learn?
    Sam

  22. # 2 is awesome! I agree, we should all be like that..I find myself sometimes replying negatively to a compliment and I need to stop that! You look like a bossss in your leaving the gym picture! I would totally leave the same way..no shame. Before I die, I will run a half marathon..I just don’t know when. No pressure though..otherwise it won’t be enjoyable!

  23. #2 is definitely true for me too! You look good in those curlers!

  24. I can definitely relate to number 2!

  25. Hey TIf! I remember when some of these things used to weigh on me, but if its any consolation, you’ll care less as you get older. At some point you’ll start saying what you mean and meaning what you say, and no one will ever think less of you for it. Trust me, it’s quite liberating. As for the beer, pick a good one and just do it, then every night’ll be a party for two! 🙂 Cheer beers!

  26. I don’t know why people are like this. We all are (almost all of us). We are so worried to sound conceited or something. Why is it not okay to say we like something about ourselves?

  27. 1 – Do you ever put pressure on yourself to push yourself to the limit, even when it may not be the best idea?

    Yes, I’m doing that right now with my job. Taking on more travel, which is a hardship for me.

    2 – Do you feel pressure to be more polite than confident?

    Learning to say a simple “thank you” when given a compliment is HUGE. It’s so much better than a “yes, but…”

    3 – Do pretty pictures in store flyers pressure you into buying things you don’t need?

    YES!!! I always say Crate and Barrel is full of things I never knew I had to have.

Leave a Reply

