What I Ate Wednesday (WIAW)

Yesterday’s workout was bad.  There.  I said it.  It’s over.  After a short run and an ab workout, I called it quits.  Today will certainly be better.  I’ll show that elliptical who’s boss!

You know what time it is – time for another What I Ate Wednesday (WIAW).  Woohoo!  Check out the blog hop Jennifer set up at Peas and Crayons to see the other good Wednesday eats.

The day began with a pre-gym rice cake, and then I followed up with a post-workout hardboiled egg.  Yum!  Two hours later, I had the last part of my three-part breakfast- oats, berries, flax and almonds.

breakfast

Berry Oats

I usually have fruit with 1/2 cup of oats, but after a stranger in the break room told me I was eating enough for two last week (yeah… total jerk… hope I never meet him), I backed it down to 1/3 cup this week.  I added in a 50-calorie mix of raw almonds and ground flax to make up the difference.

berry

I found a smooshie one!

For lunch all week, I have had a mini TJs whole wheat wrap with about 1/2 a large chicken breast, some spinach, and a little bit of red pepper.  I also had a side salad with grape tomatoes and goddess dressing.  Yum!  That’s a pretty low-calorie lunch, and because it left me starving at by dinner time on Monday, I supplemented with an apple the rest of the week.

lunch

That's a wrap people.

Snack is a delicious portion of Daisy 2% Cottage Cheese and 7 baby carrots.  I hadn’t had Daisy brand before, but I’m now a fan- not a Facebook fan, just a fan.

snack

Cottage cheese is so filling!

I planned to have a great cob salad Tuesday and Wednesday night in order to celebrate the start of summer.  As many of you pointed out yesterday, summer produce is worth a bit of excitement.

veg

Practice Safe Salad - Cucumber Knows What's Up

The salad consists of lettuce, red bell pepper, cucumber, red onion, steamed corn, 2 slices of preservative-free turkey bacon, and a pack of Wholly Guacamole.  Holy Moly, Wholly Guac is good!  I look forward to eating it again tonight.

salad

First Cob Salad of the Season

I’ll probably also have a bit of popcorn and almonds for dessert.  What’s a day without a treat?  Also, for those who were wondering, I think my good skin diet has helped give my skin a little more of a glow, but I’m still breaking out like crazy.  Oh well – I’ll keep it up a bit longer and see how it goes.

What’s the best thing you’ve eaten this week?  My fro-yo lunch Sunday might take the cake so far.

What do you do or say when a stranger comments on your eating habits? I smiled, but was fuming inside!  haha

42 Comments to “What I Ate Wednesday (WIAW)”

  1. When I bring my breakie to work, I always get funny looks — I usually am eating a huge portion of oats out of a mason with a big glob of peanut butter ~ what they don’t know is I usually had a killer hour workout at 6 a.m. ~ I just smile and keep eating haha!! Best thing I’ve had this week is a tomato pesto sandwich with Daiya cheese. I can’t get enough of them!!

  2. I love seeing all the food ideas in WIAW posts! And yea – I would totally need an apple with that lunch too. Then again, I need an apple with most lunches becasue I love them so much!

  3. I totally LOL’ed at that cucumber!! haha
    Your eats look great, especially that oat-y, gooey, fruity bowl of heaven mmmm 🙂

  4. 1/2 cup of oats is a lot?! Geesh. I must be eating for 4 then. 🙂

    Your salad looks delish! I need to try Wholly Guac!

  5. I love berry oats. Forget what he said – 1/2 cup is the way to go!

  6. If/when someone comments on my food: I follow the words of the an old song[ i.e., a song from when I was your age]: “You Say it Best When You Say Nothing at All.” Add a smile of acknowledgement and it’s all done. And Tiff, you eat incredibly healthy and sensibly and enjoy your food to boot. So just keep doing what you’re doing. It sets great examples for anyone around you. That’s my two cents worth.

  7. Haven’t really had any good eats this week yet. How lame is that?

    As for eating comments, I don’t like it when anyone comments on my food intake. I’ll eat what I want and how much I want so back off! 😉

  8. Umm, I’d barely consider what you eat enough for 2! What a jerk. I go one of 2 ways when people make comments like that either flip out and make a snarky comment back or completely ignore them. Depends on my mood 🙂

  9. Amazing… how is 1/2 cup of oats + fruit enough for 2?? He’s crazy. Anyway, the best thing I had yesterday was a mango smoothie.

  10. Oh my gosh that is SO rude of that guy!!! I HATE when people comment on my eating habits. I mean, I’m a little oversensitive about it… but still. It REALLY bothers me! Your oats look good though! (Oh and I’d show him the box where 1/2 cup of oats is a serving. And then in my head I’d tell him to shove it. mmhmm) hehe

  11. I think the best thing I’ve eaten all week is a tomato bisque I made Monday… & I justified having soup in the summer because with the AC on it almost feels like winter 😉

  12. what a jerk that stranger sounds like! I get pretty fiesty with people like that, honestly. I guess it’s the New York in me 🙂 The best thing I’ve had all week are some oatmeal chocolate chip cookies I made – delicious! And I must try that guac you’ve got there – yum.

  13. Wow what a healthy day! And being a vegan, I get dumb ass comments from strangers and not-that-strangers about my food choices consistently. If it tastes good, if I want to eat it and if I want to eat it in that quantity, then I sure as heck am going to, and those with an issue can deal with it.

  14. Ohhh girl..I fume inside too when someone comments (negatively) about the way I eat. I just want to shake then and say, “YOU are the one that is clearly uneducated about the shit you are putting into your body so back off and take a lesson!” I just learn to let it go..and hopefully it will catch up to them later (too mean? ha)

    Your berry oats look SOO GOOD. And as for your workout..don’t sweat it!! Errrybody has those days, there is ALWAYS tomorrow.

  15. bahahahahaha! I always practice safe salad =) those english cukes are my fav! ❤ Happy WIAW Tiff!!!!!

  16. ugh…I HATE it when people comment on eating habits. It really is one of my biggest pet peeves. The WORST is when someone says “you must of been hungry!”, when you eat a normal meal. I almost get to the point where I don’t even like eating in front of other girls, because it seems like they are always the ones to comment!

    • I’ve gotten that comment before too! The last time I went to dinner with my buddies I had an appetizer of cheese and crackers at home before meeting them – I know I always eat more than they do.

  17. If you eat for two then I eat for like 14!!!! You most definitely don’t eat that much…..ugh why do people have to make comments!!! It’s so rude and people should just mind their own business….don’t let them bother you or affect your eating habits…..just do whats best for you! 🙂

  18. I’ve had a coworker ask me when I was going to start eating “real food” when I was eating natural peanutbutter & greek yogurt. I just told her don’t knock it til you’ve tried it.

  19. hey girl! omg i can’t believe i missed so many posts! i gotta catch up! and screw that asshole, he’s just being a hater! i would totally have beat him up for u if i was there! on a happier note, i celebrated the solstice too! i went to the beach with my friends, the sunset was gorgeous!

  20. Aww don’t let people’s comments get to you! I eat like a horse, and people are always giving me strange looks. It used to bother me, but not in the least anymore. I know I look good… I know how much I need to feel good… and whatever other people think is their problem. If anyone ever comments about how much I’m eating, I just give a big grin and say “Yeah, you jealous?”. Shuts people up or makes them laugh 😀

  21. I think I woulda clocked that guy! 1/2 cup of oats is not a ton!

  22. Oh man – that cobb salad!! I want to eat it right off the screen! Best thing I’ve eaten this week has got to be my breakfast this morning! Can’t go wrong with strawberry, yogurt and pb covered waffles if you ask me 🙂

    I’ve never had a stranger comment on my eating habits but it bothers me SO much when people I know do it. I just feel like, “am I making you eat this way? NO! so you shouldn’t care!” But i try to just smile and shake it off. Though I totally hear ya on the fuming on the inside part!

  23. Ice cream…definitely the best thing I’ve had this week! 🙂

  24. Ugh, why do people feel the need to comment.

    I’ve stood in line at work and made myself a huge salad and people will comment how I can “pack it in” but in reality my “huge” salad is about 1/5th the calories in their sandwich and chips!

  25. I usually ignore all negative comments when it comes to people discussing my eating habits! No judges allowed lol!

  26. What a good looking cob salad! I am all about corn right now so I may have to try it!

  27. The best thing I’ve eaten all week is definitely the arugula, goat cheese and cherry tomato crustinis I had for dinner last night. So yummy and didn’t feel like cooking so it was perfect.
    And I HATE when people comment on my food, it’s really one of my biggest pet peeves.

  28. Wow, what a jerk! It kind of annoys me when people comment on how much others are eating. Our needs are all so different, it seems ridiculous to assume you’re an authority on how much they “should” be eating or how much “normal” is. Besides, nutrient density and calorie density can be very different things—that person making a rude remark about your nurturing breakfast may very well have scarfed down a sugary pastry that didn’t do a damn thing for him. Be glad you know what works for you!

  29. Why do people stick their noses in where they are not wanted, or needed!? I think you eat really well and super healthily! Best thing I’ve eaten all week… does a frozen strawberry margarita count?! 😉

Leave a Reply

