Breaking a Sweat for Summer

Happy First Day of Summer!  With all the boating, grilling, traveling I do, I’ve felt like it’s been summer for months, and the insanely hot weather hasn’t helped.  Regardless of my personal feelings, it’s finally official.

I plan to squeeze in all the summer fun I can.  As you know, Kevin and I drove to my family reunion last weekend, and we’ll travel to see his family this weekend.  We also have more boating, some camping, and a beach trip planned.  The next couple of months will be exhausting, but I think I’m up for the challenge – so long as I chill out with a cold one (or two) every once in a while.

Tiki

Tiki Bar = Oasis of Fun

I’m still keeping up with my June workout, and my runs have been stellar this month.  I’m a gym rat, not a runner, so I’m happy with the modest progress I’ve made.  Yesterday I spent some time on the elliptical.  The kitties and I snuggled in bed too long, so I got to the gym a little later than anticipated.  I think that’s a pretty good excuse though, right?

After a warm-up and a strength-training session, I did 35 minutes of cardio.  I used an elliptical with the moving arms because that kind burns more calories.  This machine happened to have a cross ramp, but if yours doesn’t have one, don’t worry about it.  The cross ramp’s not all that and a bag of chips.  (Is it rude to mention chips during a post about sweating off calories?)  Here’s the workout:

Time Resistance Cross Ramp RPE
0-3

3

3

3

3-5

6

3

5

5-7

7

3

6

7-8

9

3

7

8-10

7

3

6

10-11

10

3

7

11-13

7

3

6

13-14

10

3

7

14-16

7

3

6

16-17

6

5

5

17-18

7

5

6

18-19

8

5

7

19-20

9

5

7

20-22

7

5

6

22-23

6

5

5

23-24

7

5

6

24-25

8

5

7

25-26

9

5

7

26-27

10

5

8

27-30

7

5

6

30-33

5

5

4

33-35

3

5

2

I’d like to also note that I kept my RPMs between 155-165 (except during the cool-down part) and went with this scale for the Rate of Perceived Exertion.  The RPE of 7 could easily be bumped up to an 8 if you want a more challenging sweat session.  This isn’t a hardcore workout, but it moves your body and increases your heart rate.  Mission accomplished.

By the way, dinner last night could not have been more perfect, despite its simplicity.  I ate half a huge chicken breast, half a can of green beans, a little potato, and about half a TBS of Smart Balance Light Omega 3s buttery spread.  I don’t think this spread is the “smartest” on the market, but I always seem to have a coupon for it!

chicken

So Simple - So Yummy!

What summer activities excite you the most?

I am the most excited about eating ice cream and catching some rays.

40 Comments to “Breaking a Sweat for Summer”

  1. Ice cream, BBQ ing and swimming in the sea! 🙂

  2. I’m excited for the beach, eating outside, and wearing dresses! 🙂

  3. “I plan to squeeze in all the summer fun I can.” i am with you on this one, tiff! me, too! summer is my favourite season, i LOVE heat, i LOVE sun, i LOVE tanning, i LOVE being outside…ok, i’ll stop now! 🙂
    i hope to get to the beach at least once (1.5 hour drive so can’t just scoot up all that quickly) and hang out in the park across from where i live (it’s pretty big).
    good work on the elliptical! i like the machines with arms – i alternate one song with the arms, one without to combat boredom!

  4. Happy first day of summer! I’m jealous that you’ve been having such gorgeous weather – it’s been raining here for like a week and a half now. Grrr. But today the sun came out, so I’m hoping it sticks around for a while so that I can get my tan on, because that’s my favorite thing to do in the summer 😀

  5. Hanging out @ the beach!!!

  6. That looks like a good workout! I never really use the machines in my gym because I prefer the group classes, but I might have to try this out!

    My favorite summer activities are drinking iced coffee, eating on the porch, taking walks with my husband & pup at night, bustin’ out the skirts & dresses and drinking sweet tea!

  7. Laying out is on my list of summer to-dos as well. And I didn’t even realize today was the first day of summer until reading this! Weeks of really hot and sunny already have thrown me off too. Snuggling in bed is always a good reason to delay working out, and I think is JUST as necessary for good health.

  8. I love everything about summer, but my fave activities are barbecues, outdoor concerts and farmer’s markets 🙂 I also love the summer for sandals – my toes won’t be seeing socks & shoes until the October 🙂

  9. My favorite part of summer is sitting out on a warm summer night looking at the stars.. and Dairy Queen 🙂

  10. Shorts, flip flops and spending time at the lake jet-skiing 🙂

  11. I am SO excited to travel this summer! Its literally my favorite thing ever!

  12. Definitely BBQ’ing, baseball and beer.

  13. BONFIRES! thats what Im most excited about 🙂 Now that we have our own fire pit, Im so excited to just sit around it and talk until it burns itself out 🙂

  14. beach time is definitely what I look forward to during summer time. It is just so relaxing.

  15. Summer is my favorite season for so many reasons. Mostly I just love being outside and enjoying the sunshine! All the fresh produce is wonderful, too.

  16. Summer used to be my favorite season until this year! The heat is unreal in Texas right now….we’ve been over 100 for 16 straight days and it is killing everything!!

  17. I’m most excited about frozen sangria and ice cream and beach days!

  18. I am loving that Tiki Bar picture! hahahah!

  19. Hmm, froyo trips, after-dinner-walks, swimming and barbecuing have to be my absolute favorite things to do in summer 🙂

    • Ditto! All of those things make me smile. I even had fro-yo for lunch Sunday. That’s not weird is it? I promise I put a little fruit on there!

  20. I like summer because all the snowbirds that come to fl are back up north!! yay 🙂

  21. I love wearing dresses in summer! That always excites me. And ice cold drinks like smoothies..and beer! 🙂
    I love all the fun things you have planned.

  22. Loving the workout!! 🙂 I think traveling, spending time in the sun, and cooking out excite me the most during summer, its the best time of year!

  23. Eating ice cream is the best part of summer, obviously 🙂

  24. Summer, to me, means baseball and BBQ. Both at the same time are ideal. 🙂

  25. Wow sounds like your Summer has already been in full swing! We love going to the beach and we love to grill out three or four times a week in the Summer.

  26. You go girl! And the best part about summer for me is being outside in the sunshine, I love it! Miriam@Meatless Meals For Meat Eaters

  27. Happy Summer to you, too! I can’t wait to take a beach trip or two, and of course, for lots of pool time…and maybe a frozen drink or two. 🙂

  28. I just love being outside! Although honestly for the last 7 years I’ve lived in Los Angeles, and the tropics of Africa on the beach, so it hasn’t made much of a difference. But back in the day, my favorite thing was the green. I love the green. And a frosty margarita please. 🙂

  29. You are adorable! 🙂

    Hmm, I am most excited about sleeping (which I’ve done a fair amount of lol) and just generally being in the sunshine. 🙂 I would looove to go to a beach… I freaking love beaches.

    n

Leave a Reply

