What’s Up Doc?

Here’s a little post about the general things going on in life.  It’s the little positives that make us happy, and hopefully it’s the little negatives that we learn to ignore.  Well, I am in a good mood, and that is really helping me focus on all those little positives.

I’ve been hitting the gym regularly this week, and I even went for a walk with Kevin Monday after work.  It was incredibly hot and humid outside, but I’m not generally one to turn down a good stroll.  Today, my running buddy and I enjoyed another Three-mile Thursday, which I mention in my June workout post. 

That covers fitness, but what about nutrition?  This week has been all over the place.  I’ve been munching like crazy!  Does anyone else go through phases like that?  I just seem hungry all the time, and trust me, it’s super frustrating!

My three-part breakfasts have included a pre-gym rice cake, a post-workout egg (organic and hardboiled for easy transportation), and an at-work parfait.  The parfaits are great!

parfait

Beautiful!

Non-fat, plain Greek yogurt with peaches and toasted maple oats make for a winning combination.  Heaven in a bowl… or a Rubbermaid container.

mix

Miss Mix-A-Lot

Lunch hasn’t been as pretty, but it works.  It’s 1/2 a can of tuna on an English muffin or in a wrap with dressing or kalamata olive hummus.  I couple that with a little side salad.  The dressing is Annie’s Light Gingerly, which is a new fav of mine.  I’m on a never-ending quest to find the same ginger dressing used by Japanese restaurants, so if you know the brand, please share!

lunch

Plain, Boring, Yet Healthy

 Snacks have been all over the place this week.  Granola bars, apples, and/or hummus with broccoli or summer squash have all made one or more appearances.  Hopefully I’ll get all this snacking under control soon.  I think I’ve been eating a little more than necessary due to stress and boredom.  I  know, who is stressed and bored?  This girl.  Work’s a drain, I tell ya!

Dinner last night was pretty awesome though.  I’m American, but I swear my tummy’s German.  Chicken brats with Brussels sprouts are an amazing combo.  Deeeelish!

dinner

Dinner is a Winner

Sadly, because my hunger is as controlled and predictable as a tornado, I wanted a little something extra in about an hour.  Whole wheat bread with peeb (peanut butter) to the rescue!  I think there needs to be a peeb super hero.

Lastly, another small positive that made my day…

action
Action Shot – Sense the Excitement

My Amazon order finally arrived!  Woohoo!  I’m such an Amazon nerd, it’s not even funny.  Well… that picture’s kinda funny, but that’s not the point.  I got 4 packages of organic red quinoa and a new armband for my iPhone.  Now I can finally run with tunes! 

yay

Presents from yourself are still presents!

Now that I can jam out while jogging, I need some jams.  What are some of your favorite running/workout tunes? 
 
PS – I’m featured on Fitblogger today, so check it out!
40 Responses to “What’s Up Doc?”

  1. I feel like I’m either eating like crazy lately, or don’t want much of anything. It’s odd! I think it’s the change of season, as this always seems to happen to me! You still eat really healthy things though. 🙂 I can’t always say the same about myself!

  2. I love getting packages! Always makes my day!

  3. My goodness I LOVE you and your blog so much! I feel like we’d get along great, haha!

    Boredom + me = lots of snacks too! I don’t know, I feel like my diet is always all crazied up! But that’s ok, makes food more interesing 😉 Oh and Amazon is definitely one of my go-to internet shopping places – so many good deals and usually free shipping! Workout tunes – anything by Pitbull!

    You’re beautiful!

  4. running tunes: a lot of britney spears, rihanna, pink, even myley cyrus (ssshhh!) – yea, a lot of female singers, upbeat stuff…
    some days are just snacky! i hear ya!

    • It’s okay. Your secret’s safe with me because I too am a “Party in the USA” fan. Oh wait… did I just post that on the Internet??? 😉

  5. I love anything upbeat and “pop” while running which is funny b/c outside of running, all those songs bother me tremendously!

  6. I definitely go through munching phases….I try to figure out what’s causing the mindless eating (if of course it’s not because I am truly hungry…if I’m hungry, then I just eat! 😉 )

    Right now I’m into Lady Gaga’s new CD! It’s awesome!

  7. i love brats! i also love brussel sprouts ~ have you ever tried roasting & pouring maple syrup on them? you must if you haven’t already. congratulations on your feature!!
    xoxo~ kristina

    • I haven’t tried them roasted w/ syrup, but I have roasted them with oil n’ salt. Maybe I’ll try that next; my husband eats them like candy whenever I take the time to roast the little buggars.

  8. Hey girllll 😀 Loving your positive mood! I’ve been a snacking monster myself too, but I love it! Just means I’m healthy with a wicked metabolism, and who can complain about that?

    As for workout tunes, when I run, I like something upbeat and dancey, so I go for anything by Britney, Gaga, JLo, etc. When I do weights, it’s usually something heavier… so I listen to Disturbed, Godsmack, Mudvayne, etc. Lol… yeah my music tastes are all over the place.

    • All over the place, indeed! I was jamming to JLo during my workout and then Three Day’s Grace in the car on the way to work, so I totally understand.

  9. I love getting packages too 😉 I arrived home to find a new pair of shoes on my doorstep –> love!

    The only issue I have with chicken sausage/brats is that it’s still cased in pork lining. Boo!

  10. Ohhh i love getting packages in the mail
    I’m getting a lululemon one today and i’m UBER excited 🙂
    Love the action shot!

  11. he he he… I’m an amazon nerd, too. However, my nerdiness is in the form of shoes… 😉

  12. Your dinner looks PERFECT to me… love it.

    favorite workout song lately is Kanye west “power” and david guetta “where them girls at”

  13. Curious, which arm band did you get? I had a really good one but I found it was starting to irritate me on longer runs (and don’t even get me started on the tan line!) I switched to a waist pack (not a 80’s soccer mom one, it is specifically for runners) and although I think it is unflattering, so far it has been very comfortable.

    • Hmmm… I think the brand might be tuneband or something. I’m eager to try it out, and although I’m excited, I must admit that my hopes aren’t too high. Phones just seem to big to run with, but I guess that’s just me. At least the reviews were good!

  14. I always snack like crazy when I’m bored! All your snacks sound healthy though – so that’s a plus!! 🙂

  15. Congrats on being featured in fitblog!!
    I love getting packages! I like them even more when I don’t pay for them, but that’s for another discussion…
    How’s the red quinoa? I’ve only tried the regular ones that they sell in costco, and it’s tasty. Have you tried using pandora on your phone? It’s free and no more downloading!! I loves it ❤ (;

  16. FOrever..Chris brown. SUch a fun running song!

  17. Love the parfaits too! Since you mentioned it with the kashi, strawberries and yogurt, I’ve been mixing and matching myself. Works great for me because I don’t drink milk (long story), so the yogurt if perf. Sorry, don’t do Greek yogurt, bleh, bleh, bleh (I tried, I swear!)
    Amazon junkie too….just placed an order between Husband and I last night.
    Your tuna lunch looks good and I LOVE Annie’s dressing. As for the ginger dressing, why don’t you ask your fave Japanese restaurant if they will sell some to you, I bet they would!
    Oh – and you would totally not fall on your face paddleboarding (which you woudn’t anyways, it’s water!). I thought the same thing but the balance is not hard at all! Even the most uncoordinated of us stayed on the entire time without falling off.
    Whew….I’m done. Have a great day Tiff!

    • Haha. You crack me up. And yes, I’m embarassed that I haven’t just though to ask a few Japanese places what dressing they use. Duh! 🙂

  18. Lunch is the WORST for me! I usually pack left overs, but since I workout after work, I try to pack a semi light lunch. I always end up packing TOO light and then am hungry during my workout. LAME! And to be honest when I run I watch youtube clips lol They keep me entertained!

  19. I love getting packages too!! It makes me so happy! And I’m obsessed with the combination of Greek yogurt and peach. So delicious!

    • Now that I know how much I like it, I hope I don’t eat too much and get sick of it! (always a fear of mine – rarely ever happens)

  20. Peaches and yogurt is a delicious combination! 🙂

  21. good job girl! don’t you just love it when things fall into place?
    unfortunately for me that only ever lasts for a couple hours.
    i wish i had your self-control! i haven’t exercised in weeks!

  22. The good thing is all your snacks are super healthy!! And you’ve been hitting the gym so snack away and enjoy! 🙂 Today is the day I reunite with exercise after my trip… wish me luck it’s gonna kill me!! 🙂

  23. Also congrats on being featured on Fitblogger! 🙂

  24. I like getting packages in the mail also. Congratulations on being featured!! That is so cool.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

