Food, Nutrition, and More Food

Hellooooo!  After checking into the hotel yesterday, I power walked my happy butt down to Trader Joe’s.  I was so glad Kevin was with me; Hollywood is a scary place!  He got scotch, and I got sprouted wheat bagels for breakfast.  We made it back to the room just in time for Kellan and Susi from PopSugar, Inc. to pick us up for activities.

We rode (in a Prius… so Cali) to Real Food Daily in Santa Monica to meet up with Willow and Stephanie of C & J Nutrition.  Willow and Stephanie analyzed some of my regular meals and gave me some tips about nutrition.  I couldn’t say there was too much new info, but they seemed very knowledgeable and super friendly.  They also gave me a few tips on cooking fish, an admitted fear of mine.  Kev and I split the Not-Chos.  Since Real Food Daily is a vegan restaurant, the chips were covered with a delicious cashew “cheese” sauce instead of actual cheese.  They were delicious!

nachos

Is it bad to eat nachos in front of registered dietitions?

Kevin and I had a few hours to walk around Santa Monica before meeting up with Kellan and Susi again for dinner.  It was surprisingly chilly.  I thought Southern Cali would be hot, hot, hot.

Santa Monica

Santa Monica Pier

Pacific Ocean

My 1st Pacific Ocean Experience

Yes, if you recall from yesterday’s post, I packed a lunch on the plane.  So yes, the nachos were second lunch.  My belly wasn’t loving the time change!  I usually eat dinner at 6:30, but we were meeting for dinner at 7:30, which is 10:30 Eastern Time!  I was glad for nachos, and I was excited for dinner.  We ate at True Food Kitchen, another foodie dream.  Susi took photos of all her food, which reminded me to do the same.  I must admit, I felt a little silly doing it because she actually gets paid to do that sort of thing – I just really like food!

Curry

Panang Curry with Shrimp

Dinner was great, but dessert was amazing!  This was my first rhubarb experience, and lemme’ tell ya… it won’t be the last!

Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp

Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp

When Kevin and I were at TJ’s, we purchased a bottle of champagne to enjoy at the end of the evening, but when we got back to the room, we kind of just passed out.  Travel is exhausting… especially in a tall pair of Steve Madden wedges.

18 Responses to “Food, Nutrition, and More Food”

  1. What a fun day! I’m really loving the look of those Not-Chos. I really wish I knew how those were made! Glad you’re enjoying Cali and can’t wait to hear more!

  2. SO jealous! I love hearing about all these delicious Cali treats 🙂 Not-chos makes me laugh…probably going to steal that name at some point.

  3. Looks like you’re having an amazing time! I LOVE rhubarb — so glad you liked it. Whatever you had looks delicious!

  4. You look so pretty in the pink dress! Your trip sounds like so much fun, and oh my gosh… those nachos. I would’ve ordered them too! 🙂

  5. Sounds like such a fun day! Can’t wait to hear more about the trip…..and the YUMMY food!

  6. Santa Monica is a lovely place in SoCal! Enjoy it 🙂 Check out the promenade at night when thre are street performers.

    Where else in Cali are you headed?

    • Just Hollywood and Santa Monica – I’ve been dying to do a wine trip elsewhere, but that will have to wait until my next trip west.

  7. You look really lovely in that picture! I agree that wedges may not be the most comfortable boots ever, but they make nice legs 🙂 And those nachos look delish!

  8. Love that picture of you, so cute. That pink dress is adorable! 😀

  9. hollywood is scary? whoa thats totally not what i imagined! and chilly?! WHOA
    rhubarb is sooo good, i can’t believe this was your first time girl! try it in pie!

  10. That food looks SOOOO good :), I am so happy for you, that you’re having a good time! Miriam@Meatless Meals For Meat Eaters

  11. Awww…. Cali looks so fun! I’ve never been…

    Enjoy yourself! Vacation always goes way too fast!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

