California Dreamin’

Hello from the airport!  Although sitting in traffic, getting a random pat-down in security, and paying too much for my caffeine fix is not a good time, I’m still in a pretty darn good mood.  I have a good lunch packed; I’m not at work.  Most importantly, I’m about to leave for California!  If you read yesterday’s post, you’ll know why, and you’ll also know this is my first trip to the Golden Coast.

About that lunch… does anyone else pack lunches for random places?  I like to pack lunches for trips to the mall, the airport, or just about anywhere I can get away with brining my own munchies.  Today’s lunch is an apple and “peeb” quesadilla.  I hope it’s not smooshed in my bag!

Apple & Peeb Quesadilla

Apple & PB Quesadilla

I may be a little odd, but I’m not the only one who hates paying for overpriced, mediocre airport food.  Check out this post over at The Smart Kitchen for more on eating and traveling.  (By the way, I didn’t get a workout in today because I need to save my energy for the time change, and I ate Kashi GoLean cereal for breakfast.  It feels odd not having a three-part breakfast!)

I tried to take a pic for you guys, but I failed.  Can you see me?  I know you can at least see the plane, and I guess that’s cooler than I am anyway.  I wanted to ask Kev to take my picture in my cute pink dress with my bright pink rolly bag, but I think we’re both a bit too embarrassed.  Who knew airports were so crowded on Tuesdays???

Airport

Leavin' on a Jet Plane

Once we land, our room probably will not be ready, so we plan to leave our goods with the bellman and head straight for Trader Joe’s.  I want to get a cheap bottle of champagne (for celebrating tonight), and breakfast/lunch stuff for the week.  I don’t think our trendy hotel will be putting out a crappy but convenient continental breakfast!

Around 3 p.m., the FitSugar people will pick me up for my consultation with C&J Nutrition.  Due to the time change, we’ll be ready for dinner by then, but we will have to wait until our official dinner starts at 7 p.m.  I’m excited about my foodie meal, but when you usually eat at 6:30 p.m. and have a 3-hour time difference, your stomach might start eating itself.  I think I’m going to be picking up extra snacks at TJ’s!

15 Responses to “California Dreamin’”

  1. I’m always looking for tips on eating while traveling. When I travel, I tend to eat nothing but crap — pizza, burgers, chips, etc.

  2. I was just about to comment and say “NO! You are NOT alone! I pack crazy things too!!!!” and then I saw you linked back to my latest travel post. If you want to see REAL crazy…check out this one: http://www.thesmartkitchenblog.com/2010/12/traveling-with-miss-smart-vol1-packing.html

    Have a fun trip! I love your game plan of immediately going to Trader Joe’s. That’s pretty much my plan when I fly back East in a couple of weeks.

  3. hope you have a great flight, tiff! enjoy the day’s activities – sounds like a lot of fun stuff ahead!

  4. What a fun opportunity!! Have a great trip to the west coast 🙂

  5. Have a great flight!! Cali is just now starting to warm up, so your joining us at the perfect time 🙂

  6. Have a safe flight and a fabulous time in CA!! I’ll be checking out that travel post b/c I’m doing some flying this weekend and other than splurging on a latte, I hate spending money on food in the airports!!

  7. great healthy snacks! i always pack my own to. love the apple wrap idea!

  8. You’ll have so much fun. And that looks way better and healthier than airport food.

  9. An apple and peanut butter lunch sounds delicious! If ever the kids I nanny and I have a particularly busy day, I’ll pack a lunch for them to eat in the car on the way to wherever we’re going. I always make it seem like a really big deal and am like “We’re having a CAR PICNIC today!”

  10. Love it – “car picnic” sounds a lot more fun than “sack lunch”

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

