My Top Three

Howdy Bloggies!  I hope everyone is having an excellent weekend.  Mine has been pretty darn good so far.  As regular readers know, I had my race yesterday, and I was pretty excited about it.  I celebrated in the evening with three of my favorite things, pizza, beer, and the Mister.  We tried a new pizza place (new to me, anyway) that happened to be hosting a beer tasting.  Coincidence?  I think not.

I tried two of the beers (in mini cups) and both gave me great respect for the brewery, NoDa Brewing Company.  The first was a delicious IPA  that was chock full of hoppy goodness.  I like the name, Stretch Beerstrong.  It was on the high-end of my alcohol tolerance level, but it was bursting with so much citrus flavor that you did not even notice the ABV, which came to 7.something%.

Samples

Sample of Stretch Beerstrong

The brewery’s other beer was a Choco-Loco Porter.  I was not a fan.  It had a very chocolate taste that also hinted of ultra-sweet roast coconut.   The beer was thick and heavy, though not too strong of alcohol (6.2% ABV).  Even though I was not crazy about this beer, I feel it was more the style that I didn’t like.  The brew itself seemed creative, unique, and artfully crafted with a blend of top-notch ingredients, so I still respect the brewery for this nearly undrinkable beer.  Make sense, right?

NoDa Brewing Company’s beer cannot yet be purchased.  They *should* have growlers available by July and kegs available in October.  Hurry up and get brewing!

Dinner

We also had pizzaaaaaa!  Kev got a better one, and I was jealous.  He at least let me trade a piece.  Mine was still pretty darn good though.  He had goat cheese and kalamata olives.  I had bbq chicken.  MMmm!  I enjoyed my dinner with a Franziskaner Hefe, though I sort of regretted that beer choice.  It suited the weather, but the hefe made for a poor pairing with my pizza.

pizza

BBQ Chicken Goodness

We had two friends come over last night after dinner to just sit, chat, and wrap up the evening.  We plan to pack this morning and go boating in the afternoon.  Pack?  Yes, I said pack!  We’re taking a trip, but I’m not telling you any more about it until Monday.  You’re not going to believe the deets!

3 Comments to “My Top Three”

  1. Mmmm BBQ chicken pizza sounds delicious! Looks like you two had a fun relaxing night!

  2. I’m not a big fan of beer (except to cook with…and on occasion a real fruity one on a hot day)…but the BBQ Chicken Pizza? Now THAT I can get behind.

Leave a Reply

