My Day Friday

Happy Friday!  TGIF for realz, y’all.  The planned post for today is totally different than I had anticipated.  I thought I would be posting another Thirsty Thursday recap with a new brew review.  The new 6-pack has been in my fridge for a week now just waiting to be sampled.  However, I just wasn’t feeling it last night.  (Probably too many muffins!)

This blog is about wellness, happiness, and all that comes along with it.  For me, beer often comes along with it because as Ben Franklin once arguably said, “Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy.”  It makes me happy.  However, too much of anything is never a good thing, and if I’m not feeling it, then I’m not drinking it.  (Plus, it wouldn’t have paired well with last night’s chicken and veggie dinner.)

This reminds me of one reason I’ve kind of, sort of, but not really been counting calories.  Although I go over my limit 65% of the time, and I hit my limit about 25% of the time, there is about 10% of the time that I fall under my daily limit.  When I under-consume, I generally think, “Ooo!  I can have an extra muffin/apple/beer/whatever.”  This makes me wonder – if I wasn’t counting, would I have wanted that extra whatever?

It’s similar to why Kevin refuses to “budget” for certain things.  We’re both savers, but he goes by similar logic.  If we were to have an $80 grocery budget for the week, and we only spent $60, we might go buy a fancy tenderloin or 12-pack of beer because we can.  This doesn’t mean we “should,” so by budgeting you’re sometimes not actually restricting at all.

Anyway… enough of your Jedi mind tricks.  I also wanted to discuss tomorrow’s race.  I have questions for you guys, and I have goals to discuss.

Jedi

These aren't the droids you're looking for...

I ran this same 5k last year.  It was my first race since high school.  (I ran cross country freshman and junior year.)  I was pretty darn nervous, and I didn’t train well.  I could only run 2 or 2.2 miles a month before the race when I started my training!  Then in November, I ran my first 10k.  I am feeling more confident now, but I’m still sort of a newbie.

To prepare this morning, I did 5 minutes of walking on the treadmill as a warm-up, 35-40 minutes of upper-body weight training, and (lucky) 13 minutes on the elliptical.  Most importantly, I set three goals.  My basic goal is to finish.  My realistic goal is to beat last year’s time (24 min and 45 sec), and my stretch goal is to hit 22 min and 30 sec….errrrr, maybe 22 min and 45 sec.  I came in 4th place for my age group and gender last year, so getting third would really rock my socks.

Speaking of socks, I’m wearing my favorite pair today…

Green Beer Drinking Socks

Green Beer Drinking Socks

Tonight I plan to hit the hay early.  Kev is going out with one of his guy friends, so I’m pumped that I get to enjoy whatever dinner I feel like eating and watch whatever movie I want before bed.  This is where I need your help…

Do you have any pre-race or pre-big-day habits?  (Lucky sports bra, chocolate, extra stretching, etc?)

What do you eat the night before a race or other physically strenuous event?

Thanks for reading!  Sorry I don’t have more pics or fun stuff today.  Fridays are busy for me at work, so it’s time to face the day!

Tags: , ,

25 Comments to “My Day Friday”

  1. Thats a pretty quick time!! I bet you can do it. The night before a race i try to eat light.. Nothing thats going to weigh me down!

  2. Good job listening to your body – it can be tough, especially when you ‘plan’ things to blog about. I do it all the time — i’ll plan a new recipe then totally not feel like it and eat something really lame and boring to write about like frozen mixed veggies and eggs…oh well!

    Before a race I eat a big LUNCH the day before so I know i’ll have time to digest and not wake up feeling too heavy. I keep the dinner normal sized!

    Good luck on getting 3rd place! 🙂

  3. I love the Star Wars reference 🙂

    I feel the same when I count calories- when I know I’m under, I end up eating something random just because I can, even if I’m not hungry!

  4. Sorry, I can’t run due to cardiac issues (thus my circuit only classes). So I can’t help you there….but enjoy your evening and good luck tomorrow! Rooting for you!

  5. Good luck at your race – I’m sure you’ll make your time! 🙂

    I don’t run, so I don’t really have any specific tips; I like the idea of extra stretching though!

  6. Good luck at your race Tiff!!! I have no doubt you will reach that time
    Before a race i just make sure i drink TONS of water in the days prior and thats about it
    You are going to rock it 🙂

  7. First, good luck on your race Sat!

    I’m running a 10K Trail Race here in Charlotte Sat. What works best for me: i don’t carbo-load for races under 2 hrs. It’s useless & why take on the extra carbs/calories? I do, however, super hydrate, stay away from fats, greasy foods, alcohol & caffeine 4-5 days out. I typically eat a normal portioned meal that’s easily digestible the night before & i always have the same breakfast: Kashi go lean, fresh fruit, & a G2 Natural.

    Again, good luck & have a fun race!

    • Kev has decided he wants to eat at home instead of with his buddy. He has requested tortellini. I’m not sure what’s worse – eating a too-heavy dinner of tortellini or watching him enjoy it w/o me! I def don’t need to carbo-load for a 5k.

  8. Good luck tomorrow, drink a beer after. Why even tell you that?:)

  9. I don’t do anything special the night before a race unless it’s over 6 miles. Then I’m a fan of a simple tomato-basil-pasta bowl and a glass of vino. Or a beer. 🙂

  10. Holy speed demon! Your last 5k time is great! Good luck in the race, and celebrate after with your brew!

  11. My pre-big-day habit has become to eat a big chocolate candy bar…yea, I’m not proud of that. Good lucka nd have a great weekend!! Miriam@Meatless Meals For Meat Eaters

  12. I definitely think I eat more sweets when I count calories. It’s the strangest thing.

    Good luck on your race! Woo hoo! Save the beer for after 😉

  13. good luck with your race! it’s a great idea to set three goals, like you did.
    tonight – just chill out. don’t worry if you don’t sleep well – last night’s sleep was the important one.
    watch a funny movie – positive endorphins will put you in a good frame of mind for the race!
    just don’t have too much fibre tonight (!) and don’t try anything new for breakfast tomorrow.
    can’t wait to hear all about it after you’re done!!

  14. GOOD LUCK!! I’m sure you can get that stretch time, specially if you’re wearing those socks! 😉

    I don’t have a lucky thing, but I do always have the same pre-race dinner (pasta) and breakfast (PB+banana sanwich)- can’t beat it! 😀

  15. Good luck for your race! I am sure you’ll do amazing!!! Can’t wait to hear the recap!

  16. Good luck today! I guess drinking my lucky 13 beers wouldn’t really be a good thing to have before a big event 😉

  17. Where do they sell those “Green Drinking Beer” Socks? I want to know..

Leave a Reply

