What I Ate Wednesday #2

Heavens ta’ Betsy!  Thank goodness it’s Wednesday!  No, there’s nothing special happening today, but it’s hump day.  My week has been draggggginnnngggg, so I’m pretty ready for Friday.  As I said yesterday, I’m also getting fired up about my 5k Saturday morning.

Today marks another What I Ate Wednesday (WIAW) <– I prefer to call it “wiee-awww” instead of saying out the letters like “W.I.A.W.” – but that’s just me.

I kicked off the day with another 3-part breakfast.  I had a pre-gym rice cake, which I couldn’t help but dip in a wee bit (approx 1 tsp) of peanut butter.  Here’s another odd pronunciation for ya.  In my house, peanut butter is shortened to P.B.  However, instead of saying P.B. and J. or something normal like that, it is pronounced “peeb.”  It’s shorter, cuter, and more fun.

Back to breakfast… after the gym, I had my GNC natural vanilla soy protein with water.  Now that I’m at work, I’m having cruddy coffee (work coffee = ick) and a yummy parfait.  It’s nonfat, plain Dannon yogurt (Sorry, my grocery store doesn’t carry plain organic yogurt.  Bummer!) on top of ¾ cup Kashi Go Lean cereal and 1/3 a pint of sliced strawberries.  I love berry season!

Breakfast (Part Three)

Here is what lunch will be.  I actually took this yesterday because I’m eating the same thing for breakfast and lunch all week.  I usually do that.  This week I made a big pot of it Sunday so that I can grab-n-go every morning.

Lunch Bowl

It includes 1 white onion, 1 pint of sliced baby ‘bella mushrooms, and a bit of garlic cooked in 1 TBS oilive oil.  It also has one can of organic diced tomatoes, 2 boxes (10 oz each I think) of frozen spinach, 1-2 tsp oregano, and 1 can of rinsed garbanzo beans.  Mix all that with 3 servings of cooked quinoa.  It’s cheaper, more natural, and healthier than boxed frozen lunches.  Eat that Lean Cuisine!

Snack will be a big one.  I’ve been ridiculously hungry all week, so snack has been 1 pear and 1 Cascadian Farms Organic Chewy Vanilla Chip Bar.  I won’t buy those again.  They’re like pitiful excuses for Rice Krispie treats.

Dinner will be an organic chicken breast with 1 serving of brown rice, ¼ a white onion, 1 a sliced jalapeno, and ¼ a sliced green bell pepper.  I’m not sure yet if I’ll put sauce on it, but I do have some yummy General Tsao’s stuff in the fridge.  We’ll see, but you get the gist.  Lately I’ve also been gorging munching on 100-calorie bags of popcorn at night.  One day I’ll actually get my own popcorn maker so that I can make the natural stuff and add my own ingredients, but I’m not there yet.

By the way, here’s a pic of last night’s dinner.  I’m not linking to the recipe because I changed it around a bit, and it wasn’t that awesome.  I’m just posting because it’s pretty.  Balsamic beans and greens over baked microwaved poatatoes.

Nothing is ever to pretty to eat.

Would you guys like me to post other lunch bowl recipes and ideas?  I’m a huge fan of Sunday-prepped lunches.  What’s your go-to lunch?

PS – I did my weight routine this morning, which still got my heart rate up a little bit.  It took 50 minutes.  I plan to walk a bit tonight (if it’s not raining) before baking muffins.  Yup – the non-baker is actually baking tonight.  Stay tuned for a recap of potential kitchen mishap!

23 Responses to “What I Ate Wednesday #2”

  1. I am absolutely LOVING your one bowl meals, made on Sunday’s for the whole week. What a great idea! And this is an area in which I struggle, so having it pre-made would be fabulous. I’d love to hear more!

  2. Um I am loving that lunch bowl girl! I am so glad you stopped by the other day so I could find your site as well. Love your blog and profile pic! Will definitely be visiting often!

  3. that lunch bowl looks good! definitely post some more recipes!

  4. I like lunch bowl ideas! Much better than frozen packaged garbage 🙂

  5. Wow this all looks so delicious. I think I have everything to make that lunch so I think I will go fix it now!

  6. ooo the lunch bowl is a great idea! Better than a typical sandwich! post away!

  7. I love making lunches for the week on Sundays! I always have good intentions to do that, but it doesn’t always happen. On days when I’m strapped for time I like to have a black bean burger smothered in tomato sauce, baby spinach and melted mozza. It is really good and really quick to get packed up. Great WIAW by the way!!

  8. Woohoo muffins! Cant wait to see what kind.

    I RARELY eat a sandwich for lunch. Lunch bowls are better!

  9. “wiee-awww” is way cooler than saying what I ate Wednesday. AANDD I say “peeb” too bahaha. Sometimes I’ll throw the J in there still and say “peebj.” Prepped lunches are such a good idea I really need to get on that bandwagon. My go-to lunch is usually some kind of burrito, or vegetable bowl. ORRR a smoothie. At least that’s been what I’ve noshed on lately.

  10. Super healthy lunch! I wish I planned ahead as well as you!

  11. haha, i like your PB pronunciation – reminds me of “peeps” for people!
    that lunch looks great – yes, bring on more “homemade lean cuisine” ideas!
    rainy here again, too….enjoy your day!

  12. That lunch bowl DOES look yummy…I love a good Sunday prep-session, too. Would you like to come over and just do my Sunday prep FOR me? 🙂

  13. my favorite go to lunch is still salad… any kind of yummy salad 🙂

    you lunch actually looks really yummy. I should keep track of what i eat. lol im scare to see everything i eat. some days its like not a lot but some days its awesome lots of food.

  14. My go to lunch is usually a cabbage slaw of some sort stuffed into low-carb tortillas with laughing cow cheese. That or leftovers 😉

  15. Your lunch bowl looks so good, I usually just make a turkey wrap at home. So boring lol

  16. Lunch ideas are awesome! do it! ❤ cracking up at Wiiiiiii awwwwww! ❤ bahahaha! love it so!

  17. Love the lunch bowl idea, smart girl!!!
    I adore sunday prep but it doesn’t happen very often 😛

  18. Mmmm beans and greens is one of my favorite combos! Looks yummy to me!

  19. Everything looks yummy! can’t wait to hear how the muffins turned out!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

