Brew Review: Edmund Fitzgerald

Happy Friday!  To kick off the weekend, I’d like give a quick brew.  After work, Kev and I met a few buddies out for dinner and libations.  I ordered a beer I had never tried from Great Lakes Brewing Co. that labels itself as “an environmentally and socially conscious brewer of award-winning, all natural beer.”  Cool.  I had the Edmund Fitzgerald American porter, which has 5.8% ABV.  Beer Advocate gives it an A, and I agree.

My Porter & Kev's Kashmir IPA

For its appearance, you can see it is has a rich, dark color, but it is not as dark as, say, a Guinness since this one still has chestnut undertones.  The beer also has minimal head.  I wouldn’t think it would be a heady beer anyway, but I think our server let it sit at the bar a while too.  (We had such bad service last night!)  The Edmund Fitzgerald also has a lovely light-to-medium-strength aroma of coffee.

Now for the taste!  This beer has roast malt and coffee flavors, but luckily it lacks the milky or chocolate taste of many dark beers, typically stouts.  This is a great porter that’s very smooth.  I think the roasted flavor gives it a more crisp taste.  This porter has a rich mouth-feel that is very enjoyable, which I partly attribute to its ABV.  (I’m not a fan of beers with extremely high alcohol contents; it takes away from the other flavors.)

Dinner of Champions (the fresh beer is a dunkel, not the porter)

As you can see, I enjoyed two beers with a side salad and 1-2 tsp dressing (no croutons).  This made for a yummy and relaxing dinner.  (Sorry I ate half the salad before thinking of photographing – I’m still getting used to this whole thing!)

Not Lookin' Tooooo Rough for 5:30 a.m.

I still made my normal (ridiculously early) bedtime and hit the gym this morning after my alarm went off at 5 a.m.  Today’s workout included 50 minutes of total-body strength training; I like to give myself a break from cardio on Fridays.  A truly happy Friday indeed!

When does your weekend start, Thursday or Friday?  Do you have any plans for the weekend?

16 Comments to “Brew Review: Edmund Fitzgerald”

  1. Love GLBC’s Edmund Fitz Porter. It’s a great beer as are most of the brews from Great Lakes.

    If you really like it try making GLBC’s Edmund Fitzgerald Porter Scallion Dressing. It’s great as a marinade or on salads. The recipe is at Beercook.com (http://www.beercook.com/details.htm?record_id=3d2a07d30eec84a2_69356).

  2. The Edmund Fitzgerald Porter is a fantastic beer! Just had one the other night while watching the Phillies game. As of this moment, it’s quite possibly my favorite Porter, and it’s tied with the Burning River Pale Ale as my favorite Great Lakes brew.

    As far as high ABV beers, I felt the same way for the longest time, but then I have something like a Founders KBS, Bells Hopslam, or Dogfish Head’s Hellhound on my Ale, and I’m blown away by how good they are. Guess you just have to find the right beer.

    Happy Friday!
    G-LO

  3. Being able to understand beers and talk about them intelligently a la @Katheats had been on my list of “must-do’s” forever! This one sounds great though!

  4. My weekend starts at 5 PM on Friday, woo hoo! I’m so jealous of people who can go to the gym in the morning. I can’t wait to be able to do that.

  5. I can see my wife really liking this blog. She’d have a wine glass in one hand a dumbbell in the other though!

  6. OK, I am SERIOUSLY LOVING your blog! Loving the beer reviews (Husband and I had a beer tasting last night, he purchased the Summer Sam Adams brews, two of each of the six in the box). I wish I could do a beer review on my blog, unfortunately, Husband has a ton of non-drinking family that read the blog.
    Also, love the recipe and will be trying that green monster smoothie tomorrow.
    I look forward to reading!

  7. i don’t drink beer, but my brother loves to try new versions….this one sounds familiar!
    i work retail so always work weekends…my “weekend” tends to be tues/wed! plans: tomorrow eve, the latest morgan spurlock movie (super size me guy) and sunday = family get-together!
    have a great one, tiff!

  8. Not a beer drinker 😦 Or alcohol for that matter! Not sure why, but I just can’t take the taste!! I’m glad I’m not the only one who gets up that early to workout!! My family calls me crazy for doing it, I don’t think they realize how important working out is for me!

    • And to think, I always look at those who *don’t* get up early as the crazies. I could never have the repeated energy to workout hard after a long day of work.

  9. I am a total beer drinker in the summer months – loving your blog! happy (a little late) 1 week blogiversary! 5am is the best time to get your workouts in… If my gym wasn’t so far I would do it everyday!

Leave a Reply

