German Slow Cooker Pork

Today I enjoyed my favorite green monster smoothie.  Woohoo!  Just look at how green it is!  Gross, right?  Wrong.  It was great.  Learn more about green monsters on Angela’s site.

Smoothielicious

Ingredients

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 scoop GNC all-natural vanilla soy protein powder
  • 2 handfuls of spinach
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 or 2 ice cubes

Whirl it up and enjoy!

Today consisted of cleaning, laundry, grocery shopping, and more cleaning.  Cleaning may not be fun, but at least I was productive.  It was also great that I only spent $80 on groceries this week, including organic chicken, organic yogurts, fresh produce, and the natural, local goodies I got at the farmer’s market yesterday.  Speaking of farmer’s market goodies, I whipped up a new recipe tonight.  It’s a wee bit Irish and a lot bit German.  I made it in the crock pot, and while it was cooking, Kev was kind enough to kick my but in a game of H.O.R.S.E.

My B-baller

Not a b-baller

Now…. for the much awaited dinner!  We had to smell the goodness cooking all day while cleaning, but at least it smelled good.

Prepping Dinner

Ingredients

  • 6 small potatoes (peeled and halved)
  • 1 handful baby carrots
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 2.5 – 3 lbs trimmed bone-in pork shoulder (scored it from the farmer’s market)
  • 4/5 or 3/4 of a 32 oz package sauerkraut
  • 1 tsp mustard seeds and 2 tsp caraway seeds
  • 1/2 green cabbage (another market find), shredded

Sauerkraut - Lovin' the Boar's Head

1. Place halved potatoes in the bottom of the slow cooker.  Scatter baby carrots and onion on potatoes.  Next, place the pork on the vegetables and cover with sauerkraut.  Top this mixture with the mustard and caraway seeds.
2. Cook on low 8-9 hours.
3. Turn heat setting to high and add cabbage around the meat.  You can put some under the meat if it’s easy for you, but don’t try to mix anything up or move it around too much.  Let the cabbage soften, approximately 30 minutes… or 25 if you’re hungry and tired of waiting.
Now dinner’s ready!  The bone should fall right out, but watch out for big fatty pieces or any remaining cartilage.  Enjoy!

Sunday Dinner

My lil' bowl of goodness

4 Responses to “German Slow Cooker Pork”

  1. That looks great. I love sauerkraut, make my own. My wife isn’t as big a fan, but she humors me.:)

  2. Sounds great! Thanks for linking up on my slow cooker recipe index. We would sure be good friends in real life – two of my very favorite things are weight workouts and beer 🙂

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

