Best Beer Month of the Year

I’m sorry for the ugly header image. I was trying new things, but I’ve got something else in the works. Prepare for another change!

I love October! I don’t know if I could narrow down a favorite month, but this one is definitely up on my list. Leaves start to change color, and Kev & I have our anniversary this month. It’s also worth noting that I thoroughly enjoy Oktoberfest/MĂ€rzen beers.

Beer Advocate states:

Before refrigeration, it was nearly impossible to brew beer in the summer due to the hot weather and bacterial infections. Brewing ended with the coming of spring, and began again in the fall. Most were brewed in March (MĂ€rzen). These brews were kept in cold storage over the spring and summer months, or brewed at a higher gravity, so they’d keep. MĂ€rzenbier is full-bodied, rich, toasty, typically dark copper in color with a medium to high alcohol content.

They are mild but flavorful, and most importantly, they’re delicious! Kevin and I bought a small keg of local Oktoberfest beer on Friday night. We invited some friends over Saturday to drink it and watch the Clemson game. (On a side note – Go Tigers!)

I made pulled pork bbq, fruit salad, and purchased some Pringles.

bbq

BBQ = Mmmmmm

Our friends brought lots of other goodies too.

chili

Chicken Chili, Salsa, Pimiento Cheese, & Buffalo Dip

We had so much food! I also baked Angela’s carrot cake loaf (sans glaze) again for some of our sleepover guests to have in the morning. Yum!

loaf

Love This Loaf

As you can see, I had a great weekend. I wrapped it up with grocery shopping and a healthy Sunday dinner.

dinner

Roast Brussels Sprouts & Dr. Praeger's Spinach Pancakes

What was the best thing you did this weekend? Do you like hosting company as much as I do?

25 Comments to “Best Beer Month of the Year”

  1. The best thing I did this weekend was visit family I havent had the chance to see in a long time! :) That carrot cake loaf looks soo good!
    Have a great week! :) <3

  2. i love it! good food, good people, good beer month! woo! We have a littler german town that celebrate octoberfest here. YOu’d love it! I am half German ya know? ;)

  3. Oooh I LOVE your new photo top right hand side of the screen!! Gorgeous! Love the dark hair!! :)

  4. I saw a movie on Saturday, which was fun because I haven’t been to a movie in awhile. Love your new photo!

  5. October is a hard time to “go vegan” with all the delicious Octoberfest-ing that is happening…but I am going to research which beers and such are a-OK to drink…and perhaps come up with some sort of German deliciousness that is veg-friendly?

  6. Best thing we did this weekend visit our friends’ new house. It made me want to have a house to have people visit. We haven’t really had any company over since our rental is an eye sore (pink carpets ewww). But, I’m thinking we need to get over it, do some real organizing, and have close friends over for dinner. I’ll echo the others and state I love your new avatar. Very chic!

  7. I do enjoy hosting get togethers. So much fun. Love planning out the food part.

  8. Your new pic on the right looks fab! We were at a wedding for one of my best friends this weekend, great time all around :)

  9. Love the new picture!! I’m in need of a new header too but need the time/money to do one!! My anniversary is today =) Best month to get married IMO!

  10. I am terribly depressed we lost to you guys this weekend :( sad. sad. sad.

    I will be in a state of depression until we win again, I hate how college football rules my life (kinda).

    Happy anniversary month! Woot! Ours is in August :)

    and I love Oktoberfest beers :)

  11. Happy anniversary month! October…love the changes of fall but dread that winter is close behind. So it’s kinda a love/hate. Best thing I did this wknd…chill!

    Katie : )

  12. I loved spending time with family this past weekend and going to a festival downtown. Oh, and the Ravens winning was awesome as well! :)

  13. I had a GREAT weekend…all of it was ‘the best’ — but I’m thinking eating Fondue for 2.5 hours on Friday night was pretty fab :)

  14. I love hositng company! It is seriously one of my fav things! I love getting the house prepared, cooking lots of good food and just making guests feel comfortable in our home!!! Best thing I did this weekend was relax! :)

  15. I absolutely love having people over. I think I like it most because I am a control freak and can control what is served and who brings what haha.

  16. You know how much I love some brussel sprouts! :-) I love cooking for people… We had a great weekend…lots of fun!
    xoxo from Trinidad

  17. Love the new pic! You look great!
    That carrot cake loaf looks delicious!
    I love hosting but I am a bit of a spaz when I do. I am always so busy making sure everything is perfect. I need to learn to chill out a bit more. It’s still a lot of fun for me though.

  18. Best thing I did was go to an Art event with a friend. It was so fun and eye opening!

    And I LOVE hosting! It’s so much fun!

  19. I love being the host! It’s so fun to plan!

  20. I’ve definetly made the carrot loaf before! Yummm :)

  21. I love Sam Adams Oktoberfest! Yum!! All the food looks great too :)

    The highlight of my weekend was my first 5k yesterday morning!

  22. The best thing about my weekend was hanging out with my hubby and dog! Nothing too exciting but wonderful!

  23. Big Cheers Beers to fall! Love the malty beverages. And a big happy anniversary to you both!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

