Archive for September 21st, 2011

September 21, 2011

WIAW: Bowl Weather

Sure, you can enjoy foods in bowls all year long, but this week is super for bowl meals.  It’s a little cooler, and meteorologists call for rain almost every day.  Sounds like bowl weather to me!

My pre-gym breakfast is a rice cake with a spoon of peeb.

Peeb = Happiness

My post-gym breakfast, which is a few hours later, includes 1/3 cup of oats, 1 scoop of natural vanilla whey protein, a dash of cinnamon, and 1/5 cup of raspberries.  Raspberry + Vanilla = Yummy Combo.

the raspberries taste like raspberries

On Sunday, I made a lentil soup in the slow cooker.  You can check back tomorrow for the recipe.  It’s perfect for these rainy days!

lentil lovin'

Snack is sadly bowl-less, but it’s delightfully delicious.  I am having a Fuji apple and hardboiled egg each day (M-F).

ugly

Ugly Apples Need Love Too

Dinner alternates throughout the week.  Last night I had a Gorton’s Signature Grilled Tilapia over brown rice and spinach.  That meal didn’t actually require a bowl, but why stop a good thing?

something fishy

I wish my after-dinner snack required a bowl (read = ice cream), but I’ve actually been pretty chill with the snacks lately.  Tea, an Eat.Think.Smile bar or popcorn has done the trick.

Have you been in a snack-y mood lately?  Does the weather influence your eating?

I feel like I should throw in a tidbit about my workout from yesterday.  I did Katy’s 99 workout since it looked challenging and Hayley gave it such a rave review.  Wow.  My arms were tired!!!  My push-ups were definitely modified – all 484 of them!  I actually skipped the first half of the squats because I forgot about them, but I still got a good workout without them.

arms

That's my tough chick face. Look out for those guns!

Be sure to check out Peas & Crayons for other great meal ideas, recipes, and on-the-go lunches!

Stumble It!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

