Whole-Wheat Vegan Carrot Cake Loaf (That Actually Tastes Good!)

What’s up Tuesday?  You’re looking lovely today, especially compared to Monday.  Sorry Monday, you’re just not my type.

As I mentioned in yesterday’s weekend recap, I baked a bit on Saturday.  No, I wasn’t ill, I actually just felt like baking.  Crazy, right?  I didn’t want to make cookies, brownies, or anything too addicting.  I was going for hearty & healthy with a side of sinful.  That’s exactly what I found when I discovered Angela’s whole-wheat vegan carrot cake loaf.  Try saying that five times fast.

loaf

I did not follow the recipe completely (do I ever?), but it still came out wonderfully.  It’s idiot-proof.

This was my first food-processor shredding experience, and the excellent results made me giddy.  I just wanted to shred shred shred.

carrots

Maybe I got a little carried away on the shredding.

While stirring the wet ingredients, I was just a wee bit short of the maple syrup requirement.  So, I subbed a plop of molasses.  I’m not sure if the molasses made a difference, but in my head, the loaf got a hint of gingerbread taste.  In short, I totally recommend the plop.

The best thing about vegan baking?  Licking the dough without fear of salmonella from any eggs.  Woohoo!

While licking my spatula, I noticed the advertisement on my Pandora station.  A Victoria’s Secret model was standing there judging me in my own kitchen.  Frankly, I think she was jealous.

I tried to let the loaf cool on my makeshift rack, but you really need a wire rack for this.  The loaf was fragile yet heavy, so I was scared it would fall through the wires.

My last recommendation?  Butter.

Do you bake on a whim or special occasions only?  Link up if you’ve got a favorite baking recipe.

34 Responses to “Whole-Wheat Vegan Carrot Cake Loaf (That Actually Tastes Good!)”

  1. I definitely back on a whim…sometimes I just get a random urge to bake! I love making cookies, but typically the easy ones where I just mix up the bag of cookie mix with some butter and what not ;) Nothing fancy!

  2. I love carrot cake normally but to find a vegan version that tastes good as well? Jackpot!

  3. I always bake on a whim. It’s out of control, really. ha ha

    And because I do so, I’m always just short or out of something. Improvising usually doesn’t hurt anything… thank goodness!

  4. Not a big carrot cake person…looks good though… :-) Not a big baker but really trying to alot lately…practice makes perfect right? xoxo from Trinidad p.s. Guess what? I’m having a fun giveaway! eek – so fun!

  5. Sounds wonderful! I’m not much of a baker, but when I do bake, I need an idiot-proof recipe.

  6. Carrot cake is lovely! I love the fact that this is vegan too.

  7. Carrot cake is so awesome! Although, I do love the cream cheese icing that usually comes with it ;). That sounds great though!

  8. umm I may have to make this… today. I love carrot cake. I always bake on a whim… and then birthdays and big events roll around and I totally forget that I should be baking.. it’s weird.

  9. MMMm i do love me some carrot cake and i love that you put butter on the vegan dessert – totally something i would do :)
    I want to make this recipe so i’m totally going to keep the plop in mind!

  10. Definitely the BEST part of vegan baking is licking the batter… although it’s hard to stop :) I have to try this recipe… looks amazing!!

  11. MMM that looks great. And love what Lisa said, so true. You aren’t going to get sick from eating a raw egg ;-)

  12. There is nothing better for me than baking on a Sunday…I usually do it when I am home. http://thespecialktreatment.wordpress.com/2011/08/09/k-cooks-sunday-supper-sipping-scotch/

    Listening to NPR, or video podcasts, or Stuff you should know, and sipping coffee…it is simply my notion of church

  13. I usually bake on a whim, and always on special occasions. I get bit by the baking bug when the weather is kinda lousy, or when I’m bored and need something to do. Cookies and muffins are always my favorite things to bake, but I won’t say no to a good banana bread either. Carrot cake isn’t really my thing, but I definitely agree with you about vegan baking… it’s nice to be able to lick the bowl without worry.

  14. Ooo, thanks for connecting me to this recipe! I love carrot cake, but never actually make cakes. Dessert breads, on the other hand, are a staple of mine. Dessert one night PLUS breakfast for the next morning :) And I never plan my baking, it’s more of a mood thing.

  15. Oh my gosh that seriously looks incredible! I definitely bake on a whim – I just get the baking bug and have to do it! Haha

  16. I’m not a huge fan of baking but I do like to do it occasionally (ehhh more rarely). I baked a banana bread that was just to die for the other day.

  17. I bake regularly, like 1x per week, so I can’t say it’s totally on a whim.

    How do you like the dense bread? I like mine a wee bit fluffier I think.

  18. I never bake. I hate to measure stuff and would rather cook than bake. But I never mind when someone bakes for me! ha!

  19. I’m totally an on-a-whim baker, or my personal favorite a stress-baker (I guess it’s way better than a stress smoker?), and I prefer baking muffins to loaves and stuff, though my favorite things to bake are yeast breads & rolls. Yummm.

  20. I’ve had this one bookmarked for a looong time. I’m definitely going to get on this. Actually, I’m out of breakfast muffins and these would fit the bill perfectly. Good call on the molasses!

  21. I always bake on a whim…well and for special occasions! I love to bake wherever and whenever, simple as that :)
    This is a great looking recipe! My sister-in-law is coming to visit soon and her favorite dessert is carrot cake, I am going to make this for her!

  22. you had me at carrot cake. I LOVE anything carrot cakey. That looks delicious. I baked a zucchini bread this weekend that could have been vegan but I added chocolate chips. Regardless, it was delicious!

  23. Oh my goodness I love carrot and zucchini bread type things! i think it is the cinnamon or something but this cake with some cream cheese frosting! (yes I know thats not vegan anymore!) but wow that would be delicious!!!

  24. Loooks so good! I need to try this!!!

  25. According to my husband, we must have sweets in the house at all times (otherwise he will buy them and then I really don’t have any control over what’s in them!). Thanks to this theory I’m also eating sweets almost daily – not my kinda healthy dinner…

  26. I am a on-a-whim baker for sure. Whenever the mood strikes. :-) I absolutely love anything carrot cake flavored, so I’m sure this is fantastic!

    Oh and this made me laugh: “A Victoria’s Secret model was standing there judging me in my own kitchen. Frankly, I think she was jealous.” :-)

  27. I made a similar cake some time ago and it’s been a staple in my freezer each week since! I now add a little mashed banana into mine and it’s just right…with butter!

    Thanks for stopping by BlushingStrawberries, I’m excited to see what you get up to on your blog!

    Jenn

  28. this looks sooo good! where do you get yummy vegan recipes?

  29. Oooh I love carrot cake! Definitely bake on a whim, fairly regularly as well! Can’t help myself! :)

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

