Is it Friday yet???

Back to the daily grind.  Ugh.  Ma’, do I haaaave to go to work today?  I think I’m sick.  (Insert fake cough here!)  The weekend went by waaaaay too fast.  Let’s recap, shall we?

First, I wanted to run Saturday and couldn’t due to an injury.  Instead of running, I sat on my booty and wrote a post about plain vs black coffee – and by the way, I made a mistake.  Ooopsies!  I meant to say “regular” – not “plain.”  Nevertheless, I am still dumbfounded by the fact that regular coffee is not the same as black.  Now… moving on…

Kev, our company, and I had lake fun, beer fun, and dinner fun before indulging in a little more beer fun.  I was the designated driver for the weekend, so my tastebuds didn’t get tooooo much beer fun.  However, I did try a lovely new brew with my bbq bacon burger (heck yea I got it with fries) on Saturday evening.  It was a French Broad 13 Rebels pale ale.  It paired flawlessly with the burger.

French Broad

French Broad Brewery Pale Ale

My hip felt better Sunday, so I finally got to try out my new armband.  I guess tunes make you run faster because I did pretty well – despite running through a hilly nearby neighborhood on a hot day.  Yay!  I did 4.4 miles in 37:22, and the first 4 miles of it were completed in 33:47.  That made me feel pretty good.  I didn’t really want to get up and work out today, but I still got my sweat on.  I did a heavy day of chest + shoulders with 30 minutes on the elliptical.  What a great way to start the day!

Now it’s time for breakfast (my second-favorite time of day).  No more parfaits here; I’m bringin’ back the oats!  Notice the little black things in my uncooked oats.  Those are chia seeds, which I tried for the first time just a week or two ago.

blueberrry chia

Blueberry Chia Oats

Chia, Cha-cha-cha, Chia seeds are the same little buggers sold as “pets” about 5-10 years ago.  So why am I eating these?  Well FitSugar helps to explain how these little buggars pack a strong nutritional punch.  Fiber, calcium, protein, and omega-3s, oh my!  Click here for the nutritional profile.

  • Did you have a good weekend?  What was the best thing you did?
  • Have you tried chia seeds?  If so, what do you think of them?
40 Responses to “Is it Friday yet???”

  1. Isn’t it weird to eat the same thing that grows on animal figurines? When I first heard of chia seeds almost 2 years ago, I couldnt find them anywhere around me so when I was at Duke Univ. for work I stopped by the whole foods next to campus and found them, bought them, shoved them in my purse and brought them home on the plane with me. Well, the bag ended up ripping and chia seeds got all over my purse. Fun times!

  2. I´d love to try chia seeds since evryone seems to be using and enjoying them, but I can´t find them anywhere… I just stick to plain old things like flax seeds or hemp seeds…:)
    I have quite a nice weekend, full of movies, workouts, food and a good company :)

    • You’re not missing much in terms of flavor. I didn’t taste much of anything. I think I’m going to stick with my ground flax in the future. Glad you had a good weekend though!

  3. oh yes, the lovely chia seeds! i do eat them actually, usually in oats. i found that they’re pretty addicting, especially because of the health benefits ~ hydration, omega 3’s & energy to name a few. happy monday to you!! ;)
    xo ~ kristina

  4. Hi Tiff~

    Grandpa and I “helped” your uncle turn 50 yesterday. Rhonda prepared an incredible vegan feast! You would have been in healthy eating heaven with your taste buds popping with the flavors. …Well, there were a few desserts [including a German Chocolate cake, brownies, chocolate chip cookies, butterscotch brownies. Rhonda's sisters brought a few of the cookies packs which were in sets of 25 to keep adding up to 50!] Other happenings, too, but the birthday celebration was definitely the highlight of the weekend. Best to you and Kev. Maybe by the time you see this post one day of the work week will be almost over??? :-) Take care.

  5. PS; Have never tried chia seeds.

  6. Chia seeds pack such a huge punch of health benefits and I add them whenever I can (& I actually remember to grab them from the pantry!) Glad you had a good weekend – it’s still a bit cool here for fun on the lake, but we managed to fit in a bit of beer fun :-)

  7. I soak chia seeds in cold water until they get gooey, then add them to smoothies. Looks like speckled snot, but it works!

    I haven’t tried that French Broad! I tried their Wee-Heavyer Scotch Ale a while back and wasn’t a huge fan. I’ll keep an eye out for the 13 Rebels!

  8. Sounds like you had a great weekend Tiff! I definitely partaked in more then a few beers :)
    Chia seeds are awesome and i make sure i add them (and ground flax) to every breakfast!!!

  9. glad your hip is feeling better! I wine-o-ed it up this weekend since we’re out of beer. good times <3

  10. Sounds like you had a fab weekend! I had a great time attending a wedding and my boyfriends grad ball! :)

  11. Ugh, I had a bit of a craptastic weekend…argh. Best thing was seeing my bestie though. She’s my dose of sunshine in my life =)

    • A little sunshine always helps! Since I played “mom” to the boys (seriously, these guys act like children) I didn’t get to see any of my girlies this weekend. Bummer.

  12. I had a great weekend- date night with my boyfriend and a good long run made it for me!

    I love chia seeds, but they’re too expensive for my budget right now so I’m surviving without for the time being..

    I’ve never heard of French Road Brewery, where’s it located??

    • I’m pretty sure it’s in Asheville, NC. French Broad has stiff competition since Asheville’s teeming with breweries – it won Best Craft Beer City in the US award again this year.

  13. I am currently obsessed with chia seeds–they’re a favorite in oatmeal as well. That beer looks good. And I wish I could get 30 min on an elliptical done in the AM, I’m in awe of your oomph!

    • Ha. Thanks! The first thing I said to the hubby this morning was, “I don’t wanna go to the gym.” Then I rolled myself out of bed and went anyway… sigh

  14. I first tried chia seeds about a week ago! Dragged them all the way from NY back to Cyprus… Can’t really taste much but will continue to whack them in my smoothies, muffins and on top of my porridge as i’m sure (hoping) they do me a world of good! :)

  15. I love using chia seeds in my oats! Especially in my overnight oats to soak up all the liquid :D

  16. I’ve had chia seeds before and I used to eat them a lot actually but I really don’t think they taste that great. I am not a fan of eating things just cus they’re good for you…..they have to add something to my food other than just nutrition!

    • I agree. I like these little buggars, but for the price, I don’t think I’ll get them again soon. Every once in a while, they’ll make a nice little splurge.

  17. I agree – the weekend went WAY too fast (as it always does). I think every Monday that I come into work I think “is it Friday yet?” Here’s to hoping the week flies by (maybe with the help of those chia seeds powering you through it actually will!!)

  18. I have a recipe for peanut butter cup chia seed pudding!! It’s reallllly good :) Then you can use them as flavor!

  19. glad your hip’s feeling better! do you have a foam roller? they’re a godsend – hurt like cr@p when you use them, but they really work on tight hips, glutes, ITs etc.
    love black coffee!!…well, with stevia added (still looks black!)
    nice of you to be the DD this weekend – now you’ve done your turn for a while, right?!
    love chia seeds – i toss 1 T on salads and i love the added crunch!

  20. I’ve fallen off (or jumped…) of the chia seed bandwagon haha! They kinda creep me out and I’m not a huge fan of the texture!

    Black coffee + a bit of sweetness is my fave. Your weekend looks amazing – I love wata wata everyyywheree! I’m all in for fast forwarding to Friday again!

  21. I love chia seeds!! I sprinkle them on toast, put them in smoothies, and make a pudding out of them ALL THE TIME. They are amazing with overnight oats as well!!

  22. I STILL need to buy cha-cha-cha-chia seeds! hehe

  23. I’m dying to try chia seeds! Are they really as great as everyone says?

  24. I hope your hip is feeling better!

  25. I’m glad your hip was feeling good enough to get in a run! I love chia seeds. I use them in my overnight oats, which I’ve been eating every.single.morning. lately. It’s too hot for oats :(

  26. I love raw oats…..not cooked, but raw. So that looks yummy to me. I’ll have to check out those chia seeds!

  27. Nice job on that run time! I have yet to try chia seeds. I hear everyone rave about them all the time of course.

  28. i love that i’m not the only one who eats this stuff!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

