Blog Birthday & June Workout

Did everybody have a super weekend?  What was the best thing you did?  I suppose I’ll have to pick boating since we met up with so many fun people out on the lake, but just being off from work was pretty darn good!  As Kevin always says, any day on vacation is better than a day at work.  (That was his catch-phrase in Italy when it rained on us daily, and he was sooooo very right!)

I have some big news to share.  As of Sunday, the blog has been around for one whole month.  Wow!  Time flies when you’re meeting new bloggies, practicing a hobby (writing), and pretending to have a valid excuse for photographing your food (and beers).

Now that it’s Monday, and we’re back to the daily grind, I want to share part of my daily routine with you.  I crafted this month’s workout a week or two ago, and I started it last week.  As you’ll notice, each day works at least one big muscle group.  This burns more calories.  Also, we start with the big muscle group then work smaller one.  This yields better performance and therefore better results.

Monday: Chest and Shoulders + 30-45 minutes cardio (elliptical)

Tuesday: Legs and Abs + 20-30 minutes cardio (stair climber)

  • Leg Extension Superset with Plyometric Squat Jump *Go directly into squat jump after extensions, then rest for 30 seconds to a minute.  I do 8 jumps holding a 2.5-lb plate
  • Seated or Lying Leg Curls 
  • Power Knee Tap & Touch  Superset with Calf Raises (Any way you like to do them)
  • Jacknife/Teaser  *I get the best results from this ab move!
  • Ball Crunch 
  • Crunch to a Knee *Like my art?  Keeping your feet flat on the wall is easier than holding them up yourself, but you get a better crunch doing this because it forces you to keep your feet still.  It forces you to crunch your elbow to an opposite knee instead of bringing your knee in toward your elbow.

Like My Art???

Wednesday: Arms + Cardio (any)

Thursday: Abs + Cardio (run) + Yoga (if you have time)

  • I do my three-mile Thursday, and I follow it with stretching
  • Complete the same ab routine as Tuesday
  • If time, do a little yoga.  I know yoga helps my running, but I never make myself do it.

Friday: Butt & Back + Cardio (I often do cardio-free Friday because it’s more fun.)

  • Bench Step-up  (If you’re new to this, use a step like in the link’s photo instead of a bench.)
  • Bridge with Crossed Leg  *Do it like the picture indicates, but extend that crossed let as you come up.  The ending position should have one foot on the ground while the other leg extends parallel to the stationary thigh.

Bridge

Saturday: Run + Abs

  • Run (or walk)
  • Follow the same abdominal routine – if you’re extremely bored with it, feel free to sub pilates

Here is an explanation of the hand step-up from Monday.  I couldn’t find exactly what I wanted, but this looks pretty good:

47 Responses to “Blog Birthday & June Workout”

  1. Wow! I’m lucky if I get in two days of 1 hour workouts a week! Good for you!

  2. Congrats on your one month anniversery! There are some good exercises in your routine. I might have to try them ;-)

  3. Happy blog birthday! Mine’s tomorrow :)
    Did you draw those stick figures? Too cute if you did!

  4. Happy One Month Blogoversary!

    • Thanks! So far, so good!

      • BTW … to answer your question about highlights from the weekend, two things:

        1 – Had a great Philly Beer Week brunch at the Valley Green Inn off the Wissahickon Trail on Sunday
        2 – Scored a lightly used Concept 2 Model D Rowing Ergometer for FREE … great full body workout machine

      • Yeah… I read about that brunch. That sounds like a pretty sweet inn – even if it doesn’t give kids sippie cups of 60-minute. Ha.

  5. happy blogiversary, tiff! it’s been nice to meet you via blog comment exchanges!
    thanks for sharing the strength training ideas – cardio i am solid on, but always need ideas, tips for strength.
    love kevin’s motto re vacations! so true!

  6. Congrats Tiff! Keep up the good blogging.

    Weekend highlights…

    21 mile bike ride with The ROK (about time I do more exercise than just 12 or 16 ounce curls!). Pool party at a friend’s house. Kung Fu Panda 2 with the kids.

    • Sounds like a good weekend. That’s a long friggin bike ride!

      • 21 miles isn’t too bad. Pretty much flat here, so it’s manageable. We were up to 40 mile rides last summer. Will hopefully be able to “go the distance” over the next month or two. One ride a week isn’t enough.

  7. Interesting information here. Thanks!

  8. Ooo great booty exercise with the leg cross over.

    Best thing about my weekend? Shopping!

  9. Happy Blog Anniversary! :)

    Thank you for sharing your workouts! I’m always interested to see what other people are doing in fitness. Best thing about my weekend was going shopping!

  10. Happy One-Month-i-versary! I hope you baked a cake to celebrate. :)

    [Or had an ice cream sundae drenched in beer? I'm not sure how that would taste, but it seems somehow appropriate.]

    • Thanks! I must admit, that doesn’t sound so awesome, but I have heard of beer floats. I did enjoy some ice cream from Marble Slab Creamery yesterday. Did you know that have peanut butter flavor??? So awesome!

  11. Happy Bloggie Anniversary!

    Glad you had a great weekend – they always seem to go way too fast during the summer months!

  12. Yay one month!!!! I cannot wait to get on the boat this summer. My parents have one and I absolutely love it. Happy Monday lovely!

  13. Yay for one month!
    Love the stick figures!
    AND i 100% agree with the vacation motto – words to live by :)

  14. Hy,
    chanced upon your space while blog hoppiing..awesome space you have..
    very interesting posts..
    happy to follow u..:)
    do stop by mine sometime..

    Tasty Appetite
    Event: Letz Relishh Ice Creams

  15. Great workout girl! And how fun to go boating. I did that last weekend in the Keys, it was nice out :D

  16. Love that workout…. sounds awesome!

  17. lol i agree with kevin! and happy blog birthday! i cant believe its been around for a month, you’re doing awesome!

  18. Happy blog b-day!! Those are some great workouts too :)

  19. Boating is my favorite thing to do and I LOVE your husband’s vacation mantra!

    PS–can you be my personal trainer?

    • Ha! Thanks. I actually wanted to be a personal trainer until I figured it’d probably make the gym start feeling like “work” instead of “me time.”

  20. Way to go girl. Keep at it.

  21. Happy one month!! You’ve done such a great job for only being around for such a short time!

  22. Happy Anniversary! And thanks for this pretty cool post!! :)

    Lenna from the former czechvegan.wordpress.com, now blogging at http://veganlenna.wordpress.com!!

  23. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I have truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  24. Happy Anniversary to you and your blog! :)

  25. Yay happy anniversary! :D Nice workouts, too, those are intense chica!!

  26. Happy Anniversary to you! :)

  27. Congrats on your one month blogaversary! You’re doing an awesome job! Love your blog! Keep up the good work and cheers to next month!

  28. HAPPY ONE MONTH!! :D And wow I LOVE your workouts!! Hehe love the sound of skull crushers! :P

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

